We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hospitality, great”
Review of Splash Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Splash Guest House
Ranked #33 of 227 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bloemfontein, South Africa
1 review
“Good hospitality, great”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Could definitely come back again, the stay was very nice. My partner and I loved the place especially because it is close to the beach and shops hence most convenient. James, the manager was very helpful in keeping our luggage safe because we arrived early in PE.

Room Tip: Splash guest is the best choose it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiea2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    51
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
40
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schweiz
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We booked the self-catering unit on a very short notice, which was no problem at all. The self-catering unit is rather spacious and the kitchen is nice, big and well equipped. The only flaw was the jammed sliding door.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank swissiecrissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

You need nothing more than this place for a holiday or a business visit. Great price. Clean and comfortable.I would recommend this to anyone at any time. Centrally located no frills. Breakfast at a local place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank StephanFourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, Owner at Splash Guest House, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thanks guys. I'm glad you had a great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Great place to stay as 5 mins walk to beach in a quiet location and with friendly staff. Many thanks to the owner James and his family in making me feel very welcome on Xmas day when i was traveling solo and wondering what to do with myself on that day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank webbandwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, Owner at Splash Guest House, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thanks Andrew! It was a pleasure meeting you :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I really enjoyed the stay, it was close to the shops, beach etc. The only thing that needs to be changed is the timing of the use of the braai facilities. It can only be used until 7pm which is quite early for someone to start and finish a braai before this time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joinville, Brazil
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Excellente place, prompt return, nice food, close to the beach, good service, nice people, free self parking, good swimming pool. We would return if one day come back to Port Elizabeth. Congratulations!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BrazilMarcelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Decent sized rooms. Very clean.
I felt very relaxed.
Very friendly manager (James).

Only downside - no two-pronged plugs in the rooms or in the bathroom (so no shaving using an electric razor).

Spacious showers.
Very close to NMMU.
Within walking distance of shopping center.

Not really a sea view, but you're less than a kilometer from the beach.

All in all, I enjoyed the stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_V_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
1.0 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
#25 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
3.5 mi away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#3 of 227 in Port Elizabeth
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Le Blue Guesthouse
Le Blue Guesthouse
#17 of 227 in Port Elizabeth
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Island Vibe Port Elizabeth
Island Vibe Port Elizabeth
#2 of 7 in Summerstrand
195 reviews
5.0 mi away
A&A Guesthouse
A&A Guesthouse
#23 of 227 in Port Elizabeth
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splash Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splash Guest House

Property: Splash Guest House
Address: 53 Brighton Drive | Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 227 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Splash Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a 400 metre walk from Port Elizabeth’s beachfront, Splash is a brand new guest house in the center of the golden mile, suitable for business or leisure travelers!Our beautiful rooms and facilities have: New en-Suite bathrooms with showersCrisp White Cotton Linen on King or Twin BedsDaily Servicing, Fresh Towels and SoapsBar Fridge, Tea, Coffee, Sugar, MilkFlat Screen Satellite TV, Free WIFIFantastic Breakfast at Kaffeine RestaurantTwo Bedroom Self Catering Suite AvailableBraai/Barbeque and Swimming PoolSecure Parking Behind Remote Gate ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Splash Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing