We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than just a rest-stop”
Review of Splash Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Splash Guest House
Ranked #49 of 240 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I booked Splash Guest House as a low-cost resting stop after an overnight flight from Perth WA, and did not expect more. I was wrong. The Guest House - rooms, cleanliness, facilities etc. - was superb and the welcome and help from James, the owner, was everything we could hope for and more than we expected. If we had not already booked the rest of our trip we would have stayed there for a few days more.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, Owner at Splash Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thanks for the review guys! I'm glad you enjoyed Splash. What a pity you couldn't stay longer. I hope you enjoyed the game reserve and had a pleasant flight home :-)

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 135 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

It was a great experience, I must say we were both surprised with the comfort and convenience. Clean and well maintained! Definitely using it on our next trip to PE! This was my 15th trip in the year and this was the first I truly felt at home (away from home), if you are a travelling business man this counts for a lot. The free wi-fi was an added bonus. Simply stunning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BernardN310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, Owner at Splash Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thanks guys! It was fantastic to have you, and we look forward to seeing you again :-)

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed 1 night in December 2012. It is a converted suburban house literally a block away from the beachfront. What I loved was the neatness, convenient location to amenities, the immaculate bed-linen and the quiet surroundings. The only suggestion to the helpful owner is to see to mold on the ceiling of the shower...........a common problem near the sea.

I will definitely return when In am back in PE.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, Owner at Splash Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thanks Shirin!

Yes the mould is a problem at the coast as we have to paint regularly to fix it. I'm still looking for a more permanent solution, but it seems as if regular painting is the only answer. The only problem is the paint smell, which lingers for a few days. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, as I hope to see you again soon!

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had an awesome time. Everything was very neat, tidy and well kept. The staff was very friendly and James, the owner, is a great guy and put in a lot of effort to accomodate us. Will definitely be returning next year. All ammenities are across the road makes life a lot easier!
Thanks!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreAnnandale A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, Owner at Splash Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thanks guys! Was awesome to have you with us, and I hope to have the "wolf pack" back next year ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Came back from a 4 night stay at Splash and man what a place. Great spacious rooms with very nice bathrooms ans of course the pool and braai aria that was absolutely awesome. Thanks to James ans Linda for being the best hosts i have ever had and making us feel right at home.

Howling greetings!!!
The wolf pack.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneManW0lfPack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I just returned from a fabulous 4 nights at Splash Guesthouse.

The accommodation was neat, clean and comfortable. The pool and braai area where we spent most of our time was perfect. James is a fantastic host and all round great guy.

There rooms are spacious and well equipped.

The only thing I'd recommend is that they get some more self catering utensils like plates, cutlery etc. for use whilst at the guest house.

I'll definitely be returning again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cambalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, Owner at Splash Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thanks guys! I'm glad you had a great time. Next time I'll make sure there are more utensils, and I'll even treat you to a free barbecue! See you soon...

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Located close to the beach and in easy reach of main shopping areas. James was very welcoming and gave us good advice on things to see and places for eating. The room was comfortable and clean. Would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cristocd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, Owner at Splash Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write a review! I'm glad I could assist you with your plans, and Pleased you enjoyed your stay. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
22.1 mi away
The Garden Lodge Guest House
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
9.9 mi away
Dolphin Dance Lodge
Dolphin Dance Lodge
#27 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
#24 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
55 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
527 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Hub Boutique Hotel
The Hub Boutique Hotel
#10 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splash Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splash Guest House

Address: 53 Brighton Drive | Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 240 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: $60 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Splash Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a 400 metre walk from Port Elizabeth’s beachfront, Splash is a brand new guest house in the center of the golden mile, suitable for business or leisure travelers!Our beautiful rooms and facilities have: New en-Suite bathrooms with showersCrisp White Cotton Linen on King or Twin BedsDaily Servicing, Fresh Towels and SoapsBar Fridge, Tea, Coffee, Sugar, MilkFlat Screen Satellite TV, Free WIFIFantastic Breakfast at Kaffeine RestaurantTwo Bedroom Self Catering Suite AvailableBraai/Barbeque and Swimming PoolSecure Parking Behind Remote Gate ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Splash Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing