We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best filet !”
Review of The Coachman - CLOSED

The Coachman
Cuisines: Central European
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best filet !”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is not placed in front of the sea, as I've read on others comments....but the menu and the service is great!
I was visiting PE for two weeks, and this restaurant is one of the best that I could found on my staying.
The best quality and price.
Just try it !

Helpful?
Thank Marcelo_Montivero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    37
    5
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape St Francis, South Africa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

I have never had a bad meal here and neither have any of my dining companions. A large varied menu too

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Guy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

If we want a good meal when visiting PE we always head to the Coachman! Love the Humewood branch for the service, food and view. Have had plenty of meals here and never hear any complaints from fellow diners. Owners also on hand and mingling with patrons.
Going there again for lunch and looking forward to it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Belinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very good steak”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Went for a business dinner with a group of 20 people. Everyone enjoyed the food and the atmosphere was great.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank OmeJuup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
141 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good food and wonderful setting”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The coachman always impresses. The food is consistently good, the service is above average and the setting (in both branches) is well appointed. Wonderful steaks, and good seafood. The wine list is extensive and well priced. The food is not badly priced but adds up. No one could call this restaurant cheap but it is worth the extra.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarahthexton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coachman also viewed

Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
 
Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing