We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of GuestHouse on Irvine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
GuestHouse on Irvine
Ranked #49 of 224 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Somerset East, South Africa
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Such a pleasure to book with Tanya. She is always very friendly and very helpful - and so willing to meet your every need. The service is excellent. This is the place to stay when you are in Port Elizabeth.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya F, Owner at GuestHouse on Irvine, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you, Jenny!! Always a delight to have you stay with us :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    21
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
11
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Guesthouse on Irvine, loved the wooden floors and "old" feel. The guesthouse is a short walk away from Stanley street which we loved! We will definitely return when in PE again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Melissa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya F, Owner at GuestHouse on Irvine, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you Melissa! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and the vibe of Stanley Street (PE's best kept secret!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Awesome all round! Good location and great service.
The host, Tanya, is extremely friendly and helpful.
The shower's somewhat erratic water temperature was the only thing I didn't enjoy during my stay, but I'd definitely stop by again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Margaux P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya F, Owner at GuestHouse on Irvine, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you Margaux! I've checked the water, and seems to be sorted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
0.2 mi away
Zareba B&B Guesthouse
Zareba B&B Guesthouse
#42 of 224 in Port Elizabeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Phillips Bed and Breakfast
St. Phillips Bed and Breakfast
#67 of 224 in Port Elizabeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lavender Terrace B&B
Lavender Terrace B&B
#5 of 224 in Port Elizabeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Richmond House
#152 of 224 in Port Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
3.0 mi away
Millard Crescent
Millard Crescent
#6 of 43 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
6.7 mi away
Le Blue Guesthouse
Le Blue Guesthouse
#22 of 224 in Port Elizabeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GuestHouse on Irvine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse on Irvine

Property: GuestHouse on Irvine
Address: 40 Irvine Street | Richmond Hill, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 224 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — GuestHouse on Irvine 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish, comfortable, convenient and affordable accommodation suitable for travelers, tour groups and teams. GuestHouse on Irvine is centrally located, secure and private in a newly refurbished original Victorian home. Close to restaurants, beaches, shopping centres and transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your GuestHouse on Irvine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing