We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lives up to its standards”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cubata

Cubata
Ranked #14 of 344 Restaurants in Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
237 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lives up to its standards”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Visited the restaurant during my visit to PE again and wasn't disappointed. The venue is deceiving as the place is rather simple but the food excellent. A limited menu with good tasting food.
Will visit again when in PE

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank savuka1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    45
    12
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
858 reviews
302 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 939 helpful votes
“Very good food; not fantastic value”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This "dive" place is in a sketchy neighborhood (but we felt reasonably safe parking our car outside) with a cult following. We had prawns and ribs, and brought our own wine. The food was very good. For "what it was" though, it seemed expensive. I know prawns are expensive, but 500 Rand for 2 with one course and BYOB in a dive restaurant didn't seem like a great deal (also hard to tell if we were charged correctly, as we didn't receive an itemized bill). At that price, I might prefer "fine dining."

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Portugal/Mozambique in PE”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is a no-frills joint where the focus is on the food. You will have to bring your own atmosphere which most people do.

The prawn is flown in fresh fro Mozambique everyday. The ribs and chorizo are best in town. Unfortunately did not have the space for the chicken.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abhishek_grgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Totally fantastic”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a true treasure. I was blown away by this simple but brilliant concept. The food was totally out of this world. The word authentic comes to mind. The ambiance was fantastic. Good, no excellent food in a plain original unpretentious setting. Completely fantastic.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sybert03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, AZ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and local scene”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This place is not fancy, you won't have waitstaff hovering around to clear your plates and the owners have to buzz you into the gate to enter the restaurant. These are among many reasons to visit, as this place has a character of its own. Once you're in (with your own bottle of wine), the owner points you to the self-service counter to get your own glasses and water. We sat at one of the long tables and the owner sat down and took our order. While waiting, guys came in with enormous bags of freshly cut potatoes for the marvelous chips they serve. I ordered the chicken, among the best I've ever had. It was seasoned with a fantastic garlic and chili sauce. My husband got the ribs - amazing. The place filled with families and small groups of friends with their own wine and beer. Great vibe. It's located near the soccer stadium in a transitional neighborhood with a lot of character and characters.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gl0balmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cubata also viewed

Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
 
Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Cubata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing