We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and local scene”
Review of Cubata

Cubata
Ranked #14 of 345 Restaurants in Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Tempe, AZ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and local scene”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This place is not fancy, you won't have waitstaff hovering around to clear your plates and the owners have to buzz you into the gate to enter the restaurant. These are among many reasons to visit, as this place has a character of its own. Once you're in (with your own bottle of wine), the owner points you to the self-service counter to get your own glasses and water. We sat at one of the long tables and the owner sat down and took our order. While waiting, guys came in with enormous bags of freshly cut potatoes for the marvelous chips they serve. I ordered the chicken, among the best I've ever had. It was seasoned with a fantastic garlic and chili sauce. My husband got the ribs - amazing. The place filled with families and small groups of friends with their own wine and beer. Great vibe. It's located near the soccer stadium in a transitional neighborhood with a lot of character and characters.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gl0balmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    47
    12
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Cubata is near the Nelson Mandela stadium and is a no frills eatery. Bring your own drinks and be prepared to share your table with strangers. The place is packed and filled with atmosphere. There is no written menu (that i saw anyway). Ribs, Chicken and monster-sized prawns are the only items available and each one is incredible. The ribs were the best ever. The owner does the ordering for you. I will definitely be back - with friends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindymac1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent ribs and chicken”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Menu is limited, it's always busy, you bring your own drinks, and you sit on benches with other people just next to you. But the food is absolutely excellent, the best ribs I've ever tasted.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank asoktheintern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“AWESOME RIBS!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This place has no nonsense and no frills. It is one of those place that is just what it is. You have to book in advance, as it is very popular. Take your wine and whatnot with you. Come and park with your friends, and wait for the owner to swing by and advise your table on how many ribs and buns you need.

This is awesome, and very reasonably priced. In the whole of Cape Town, we can't find ribs nearly as good as this place's ribs.

I will go there again and again and again whenever I am in PE.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank janajakkals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't expect 5 star service. But that's not why you go there...”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Ribs, prawns, chips and bread rolls are fantastic. Love the "rough and ready" setting. Not licenced so take your own alcohol. Service can be slow especially when they're busy (which is very often). Well worth an evening out.

Tip: Take your own glasses and ice.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cubata also viewed

Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Cubata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing