We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Port Captains House

Port Captains House
Ranked #228 of 342 Restaurants in Port Elizabeth
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Has a magnificent view over the harbour
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
883 reviews
525 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 641 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We ate here as were staying the Paxton Hotel and it was the only restaurant nearby. We were pleasantly surprised and had a great meal . I had a delicious Kudu steak with beetroot , my husband had great pork belly and our son steak . It was all wonderful and with a bottle of wine and cokes came to only 470 rand which is about £30 - amazing for that quality of food . This did include 10% tip added automatically which was a bit cheeky as we were only a party of 3 but still it was a great evening and we would have given more than that as tip anyway.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank holidayseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    19
    17
    3
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
502 reviews
311 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Quiet place with a view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Went for coffee. The atmosphere was laid back and quiet with the patio looking out over the water. The menu looked pretty good and inexpensive. Wanted to return to try the breakfast, but my schedule didn't allow for a return visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't visit waist of time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Arrived for lunch bad service bad milk sour, cream sour, most beverages out of stock coffee for irish coffee cream orderd milk shake sour, supermqarket was open to much trouble to go buy fresh stock 15 meters away don't waist your time no manager on duty

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank russel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
125 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Expected better!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were disappointed with the quality of service we got. The food could have been so much better. My colleague had a reasonable starter and quite a nice steak. My starter was not very good and not well presented. My main was a nice Kudu Steak ruined by having some heavy cheese based topping with nuts in it. I like to taste the game guys!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“A lot of potential”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

Port Captains House is siuated in the same location as the old Cafe Brazilia. I just get the impression they have not entirely shirked off teh old Brazilia and completely re-created the new Port Captains. I went for breakfast ad enjoyed their eggs benedict with a twist. 2 slices of rye bread topped with creamed spinach, bacon and poached eggs. I drank 2 cups of their delicious coffee. I would return for this breakfast day in and out.
Their menu is HUGE!!!! In fact it is confusing. Outisde tey have a number of chalk boards displaying specials. there are so many you cant read them all. I would suggest they pick their best and slash the rest.
The interior is dark and unwelcoming upon entrance. The sea facing area has more natural light and they have a fantastic harbour view. The restaurant was empty. I felt uncomfortable, as if every mouthful I ate was being watched. I cant quite put my finger on how to fix this.
The venue is perfect for a candlelight dinner venue.
The location is great and the menu can be simplified to incorporate a few of their best dishes and remove teh peripheral confusing menu items. With a bit of attention to the gloomy interior and a staff revamp, the Pors Captains House may become a restaurant of substance.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sune G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port Captains House also viewed

Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Port Captains House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing