We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming place”

Bocadillos Bakery and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $12
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Welcoming place”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Visited Bocadillos for dinner while on a business trip to Port Elizabeth. As you enter the restaurant you are greeted by a selection of delectable cakes and treats. For a sweet toothed person like me I could not resist packing in a pecan nut delight for my late night cuppa.
The layout of the restaurant is welcoming if not a bit cramped. As I was dining alone I could easily hear the conversations from other diners sitting close by. The décor is fresh and bright.
I had the lamb burger served with roasted vegetables. I was slightly disappointed because that the rim of my plate had grease marks on it. This could easily come from the chef handling the plate while dishing the food and the food was colder than I am comfortable with but it was delicious and what I had expected.
Overall I had a lovely dining experience and I would certainly like to visit this place again given the reasonable pricing of the menu.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Obru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    61
    18
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

This place has a relaxed, light bohemian atmosphere that makes for a thoroughly enjoyable experience. We went for a dinner and the food was well prepared and interesting. As a bonus, its pretty accessible for the disabled. We'll definitely be back.

Helpful?
2 Thank veethree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Why go anywhere else??”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in PE and ate at Bocadillos every night and twice for lunch. The menu is extensive and all very delicious.Atmosphere was excellent , we were there for curry night and live music night. The staff got to know us by about the 3rd occassion and welcomed us back and looked after us very well.
A funky little restaurant that is sure to please if you are looking for good food a relaxed dining experience

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tashell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Andre, SP
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice food!”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Good service! Nice place. After a meal, you must try a desert from the bakery. I recommend the cheesecake.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andre_Capovila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great vibe and delicious food”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Relaxing environment with great pizzas. My pizza was half price due to a monday special.Good service was always at hand.Outdoor seating had heaters near which was very comfortable in winter.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bocadillos Bakery and Restaurant also viewed

Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 
Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Bocadillos Bakery and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing