We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere food quality fails to match”
Review of Fushin

Fushin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Al fresco dining, on the lovely cobbles of Stanley Street....Immerse yourself in a ambient dining environment. Soho Fushin Lounge Caters for patrons on a social level by providing them with world class beverages.(Serves as a waiting venue for seating tables at Fushin.
2 reviews
“Great atmosphere food quality fails to match”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Tried this out for the first time, the atmosphere was good, service was good but the quality of food was not. There is no quality for the value. food was too oily(rich) and drenched in soya sauce (so unhealthy).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angepc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    104
    27
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average fast food by a true Japanese cuisine standard”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Both myself and my boyfriend came from Asia and this is our first visit to PE. given the raving reviews on tripadvisor, we decided to give Fushin a try. Fushin striked us as located in a busy food street and atmosphere was good. We sat at the sushi counter and watched the preparation. To be honest, it was a team of Chinese preparing Japanese sushi with an attitude that shows little respect for the cuisine. it was a fast food operations and Food was average although the menu shows tons of variety btw tapas, Japanese and Chinese selection. It is really average compared to what we experience for a similar price point in Asia, and the food quality and experience is similar to the Sushi Tae concept in Singapore without the conveyor belt moving the sushi around. We were disappointed and didn't even manage the finish our 4 orders. My boyfriend's 2nd drink didn't even arrive given the servers were too busy to remember so we left after a disappointing experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bunnyjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best sushi ever!”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I think this restaurant became one of the PE's main attraction.
If you are in Port Elizabeth you can't miss it. The Salmon roses, Tiger eye , New York, are special. I live in Asia, also travel around the world and I can just say that it is the best sushi ever!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A restaurant that never disappoints”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Port Elizabeth, South Africa isn't exactly a culinary paradise so it is pleasing to report that it at least has one restaurant that serves authentic Japanese, Thai and Far Eastern fusion cooking. There is something for everyone. My daughter and I don't eat Sushi, but my wife and son do and they rave about it. We have tried many of the dishes on the menu on our frequent visits and find that on each occasion they are cooked to the same high standard. Living on the outskirts of town it is now a great pleasure to eat at their other restaurant in Sunridge Park, thereby saving the 40km journey into town. So if you are a resident of Port Elizabeth or simply visiting and want something other than boring grilled meat and rubbery prawns, visit Fushin and sample their excellent menu.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tarkastad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
178 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A MUST”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

One of my favorite restaurants in the country. Unique menu, with mouthwatering dishes. The place to be seen! Owner Mark is very passionate about their cuisine and it is definitely apparent in the quality of the food, as well as the atmosphere. I do not visit PE without paying Fushin a visit!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JacquesMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fushin also viewed

Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
 

Been to Fushin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing