We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airport
Nearby Hotels
$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Kelway Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
$83
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach Hotel(Summerstrand)
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paxton Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
$86
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No5 by Mantis(Summerstrand)
$169
$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
$145
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$181
$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Boardwalk Hotel(Summerstrand)
$172
$161
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolphin Dance Lodge(Port Elizabeth)(Great Value!)
$77
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveler rating
13
23
21
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
23
21
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmorning flightplace to sleepvending machinebreakfast is servedcomfortable bedwithin walking distanceshowerwifishuttlefacilities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 64 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Having arrived at the airport to find my flight cancelled and no others leaving for Durban on New Year's Day, I walked from the terminal to the Road Lodge Hotel, approximately 5 minutes walk away. This being the only option available, I wasn't expecting very much. However, I was greeted by very friendly reception staff, who offered me free coffee and muffins before showing me to my room. Very pleasantly surprised ... airy, super clean, comfortable bed ... and an en-suite with a fabulous shower. I didn't stay for breakfast as needed to get on first flight out the next morning, so can't comment on the food, but the dining area was beautifully laid out with tastefully decorated tables There are no evening meal facilities, but I was able to walk back to the terminal where there are 2 options available. Frustration at being stranded was made easier at this friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and its facilities as well as our staff. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Nothing special about this place, but it does give you a place to sleep. Especially if you're a weary traveller - good luck finding anything open at all hours of the night in Port Elizabeth.

The shower was nice and bedding was clean. Apart from that, there is nothing really to this room or this place. It is there, and if you need it, it is good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janajakkals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Wow, best arrival ever at a Road Lodge. 2 mins walk from the terminal - you can see the hotel when you land. 1 min quick, friendly, efficient check-in. Super clean - the taps and mirrors are polished so they shine. Fabulous. Great value for money. Breakfast was equally impressive. Didn't expect much for R60, but there was fresh fruit salad, yogurt, croisants, scrambled eggs, sausages, ham, cheese, cereals, muffins, toast, tea, coffee, juice. The breakfast room was full (about 40 people), with a ladies group from Durban, but there was plenty of space, food was constantly replenished, 4 smiling attendants moved away dirty plates, got you more sugar, cleaned tables, re-laid them. Wow. It was so efficient. I couldn't help comparing South Africa's Road Lodges with the chain motels in USA, where everything is plastic and the bins overflow with garbage. Not here. At the Road Lodge there is smart crockery, real cutlery and starched white cloth napkins. Very impressed and highly recommend. You could be unlucky and get a noisy group staying - I was lucky, had a good night's sleep in a comfy bed, and a great breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FuzzySalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_CLHG_Team, The CLHG Team at Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews