We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little gem in PE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belvedere Cottages & B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Belvedere Cottages & B&B
Ranked #34 of 224 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Little gem in PE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

The cottages are clean and comfortable with cute furniture and they are self-contained with everything you would need for a stay in PE, complete with the best tour guide found in the host; Roy. Roy is a lovely person with a great heart. He took time out of his day to help us return our hire car to the airport and gave us a tour of PE with lots of helpful tips on the surrounding dining experience with a history of the area. Location is great as it is only a 10 min drive to the airport. Wish we had stayed for more than one night! Also the restaurant just down the road Fuisin serves great sushi.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickandBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereC, Owner at Belvedere Cottages & B&B, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Hi Nick & Bev,

What an enjoyable conversation!! I really enjoyed meeting you and it was a pleasure to host you in Port Elizabeth. Thank you for the kind review. May you have a wonderful Christmas.

Warm regards,

Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    13
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
18
31
2
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centurion
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

This accommodation is of very high quality. The host, Roy, is a very friendly person. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality and really enjoyed my stay there. I will most definitely visit him again if my endeavors takes me to PE. The guest house is also very close to some very good dining!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christiaan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereC, Owner at Belvedere Cottages & B&B, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Hi Christiaan,

What a lovely surprise to find your review this morning. It was great to meet you and yes, it will be wonderful to host you on your next trip to Port Elizabeth.

Thank you so much.

Kindest regards,

Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Very nice, quiet place, lovely furnitured with pretty garden (left house). very friendly and extraordinary helpful host. He did a sightseeing-tour with us and helped with my passport (possibly lost). He also gave us good tips, where to go around.

Room Tip: Try to get the lefthand house with the mainentrance (not the one with the garage).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flawless1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereC, Owner at Belvedere Cottages & B&B, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Hi Oliver,

It was really great to meet you both. I am so happy that you enjoyed the private game reserve safari too.
Thank you for the kind review.
We hope to see you back at Belvedere Cottages on your next visit to South Africa.

Warm regards,

Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walmer
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

It is pink Its fab As a seasoned B & B traveler this is the best well equipped accommodation I have ever come across The host Roy thank you for your hospitality and making our stay one of the best on our holiday We will be back You set a precedent to other establishments that we have stayed -all the best

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereC, Owner at Belvedere Cottages & B&B, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hi Johan,

A lovely surprise to receive your kind review. THANK YOU!

We will visit you at "Die Smous" in Graaff Reinet soon.

Warm regards,

Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Going down on a business trip to Port Elizabeth area is already stressfull enough. The Cottage was like a little private haven after a long working day.
Love the garden, the decor, the history of the building and the way it was upgraded to cater for every need.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jolanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereC, Owner at Belvedere Cottages & B&B, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hi Jolanda,

Thank you for coming to stay at Belvedere Cottage and writing a review.
I will hold thumbs to see you back one of these days.

Warm regards,

Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
170 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed 2 nights before heading to Cape Town.
The cottages are delightful, they are in an area on Richmond hill that has a wealth of Victorian cottages . A nice area to stroll.
The cottage we were in is I think the smaller of the 2 and entered thru what seems to be the garage. The other cottage has a much nicer aspect and looks like a cottage.
The cottage has beautiful outdoor garden patio , a great spot to relax.
Very secure with alarm and window bars, something we find strange but the way it is in S Africa
The area is close to the city and around 15 minutes from the beach.
Very well furnished with antique pieces that complement the place and add to the ambience.
Quiet enough except for the barking dog next door that can be a nuisence .
The cottages have full kitchens , if you don't want to cook then there are about a dozen restaurants 10 minutes walk away.
Roy , the owner, is extremely helpful, picked us from the airport and is willing to help in any way he can, even taking guests on a tour of the city.
It would be nice if he lived on site but he is only a short distance away if needed.
All in all a really nice comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Maybe the cottage facing the street is larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OskarandSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereC, Owner at Belvedere Cottages & B&B, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
My dear Peter & Aileen,

Thank you for your lovely email and subsequent review on Tripadvisor. It was a delight to meet you both and spend time with you showing you the sites of the city. What a pity that Aileen arrived not feeling well after Kruger Park. I hope she made a speedy recuperation at Belvedere Mews.

We would love to host you at Belvedere Cottage on your next visit. The cottage offers accommodation for 4 guests and is available at a slightly higher rate than the Mews.

Enjoy Cape Town.

Safe travels,

Roy & Zozo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

My sister (visiting from England) and I stayed for 4 nights at the cottage. We were met on our arrival by Roy, the owner, who was extremely friendly and helpful, giving us a full rundown on the facilities and advice on what to do and see during our stay. The 2 bedroomed cottage is very comfortable and clean, serviced every day, and boasts a beautiful garden - an excellent place to sit outside and enjoy breakfast at the start of the day. For those who enjoy eating out there is a wide variety of excellent restaurants within easy walking distance, but the kitchen is fully equipped for those who prefer to eat in. Car parking is secure, and the cottage is conveniently located within easy driving distance of all the local attractions. I have no hesitation in recommending Belvedere cottages and certainly hope to be able to stay there again in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereC, Owner at Belvedere Cottages & B&B, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Niel,

Not only was your response positive but it is heartwarming to note that you picked up on so many details regarding our accommodation and the eating and entertainment areas on our doorstep.

It was a very great pleasure to have your patronage and we most definately look forward to your return in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
0.2 mi away
GuestHouse on Irvine
GuestHouse on Irvine
#49 of 224 in Port Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.4 mi away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#3 of 224 in Port Elizabeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lavender Terrace B&B
Lavender Terrace B&B
#5 of 224 in Port Elizabeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Zareba B&B Guesthouse
Zareba B&B Guesthouse
#42 of 224 in Port Elizabeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Phillips Bed and Breakfast
St. Phillips Bed and Breakfast
#71 of 224 in Port Elizabeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
2.1 mi away
Conifer Beach House
Conifer Beach House
#7 of 224 in Port Elizabeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Cottages & B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Cottages & B&B

Property: Belvedere Cottages & B&B
Address: 15 Edward Street | Richmond Hill, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 224 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Belvedere Cottages & B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our accommodation is located on popular Richmond Hill and Park Drive, Port Elizabeth. We are literally around the corner from some of Port Elizabeth's best known facilities and attractions. The cottages are self catering and offer affordable luxury. FREE WIRELESS INTERNET. Stylishly appointed, both properties offer bedrooms with private bathrooms, and each cottage has its own fully equipped kitchen. The high standard of comfort appeals to all types of guests- from romantic honeymoon couples to corporate travellers & relocation, alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Belvedere Cottages & B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing