We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Treetops Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 232 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Will go back any time! The location is perfect for the area, the owners are friendly and made us feel very welcome. The breakfast the next morning was out of the world, and I will recommend Treetops guest house anytime!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Celeste V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenXXXXX, Owner at Treetops Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Celeste,
So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you so much for such a great review. Reviews like this really make us feel that all our efforts and hard work are so worthwhile. My wife does all of the breakfasts herself and her breakfasts have really created a name for us so thank you again and hope that we will see you back at Treetops again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 556 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

Very pleasant stay. All staff were very helpful and friendly. Spacious room with comfortable beds and chairs. Really enjoyed my breakfasts too. Price charged for the room and food was very good value.

Some traffic noise at night, but that is the only negative of the trip. Being near the airport helped tremendously with fetching and dropping off my hire car.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Clifford S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenXXXXX, Owner at Treetops Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Clifford,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during the Iron Man event and congratulations on being an Iron Man and completing the event. Glad that Treetops lived up to your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for which my wife and I are most grateful. Should you choose to race again next year we hope you will again stay with us, we already have a couple of bookings. Well done and sincere thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Absolute Awesomeness. We celebrated our anniversary on the 17th march 2014. Everything was perfect Clean room Friendly staff and super comfy bed =)
Would recommend it to anyone and everyone. We loved it!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Eric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenXXXXX, Owner at Treetops Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Eric,
So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found everything to your satisfaction and glad that you could celebrate your anniversary at Treetops. Living in Port Alfred as you do we really do hope that we see you back at Treetops sometime in the future. Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review which we really appreciate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We booked in here after a day of travelling and arriving in Port Elizabeth by plane fairly late in the evening and booked it primarily on location.
Not being used to 'South-African mentality' of fences around properties, it was a bit confusing how to enter and it took a moment before we were let in. Then we were directed to other parking places then where we initially parked. This was a bit of an annoyance as it is quite tight to manoever around their parking area, especially in a newly rented car that you are not used to driving yet and you don't want to damage.
The room was clean but outdated and could use with a little refresher and some repairs here and there.
The service was very good and friendly and they gave us a nice itinery for the garden route with some good pointers.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddoron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenXXXXX, Owner at Treetops Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

We thank you for taking the time to write your review and we understand that whilst we try our best to make everybody's stay enjoyable it is impossible to please everybody. Unfortunately fences around properties is a South African way of life and it prevents petty crime as I am sure you would not be happy if your car was broken into.
Sorry that you found it annoying that you had to move your car after initially parking but unfortunately we do not know who is arriving until we have introduced ourselves. I can only assume you were in room 8 or 10 which has parking at the back of our premises.
If you were in either of these two rooms, they were only built in 2010 so find your comment outdated a little difficult to understand. In regard to the repairs I would appreciate if you could advise us of what you felt needed repairing as we spend a lot of time ensuring our rooms are up to standard.
Other than that glad that you enjoyed the itinerary we gave you and that you found us to be value for money and trust that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in South Africa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Excellent is all I can say it was great and I will be back Thank You.
Location is perfect and there's a friendly pub and grill just a few doors down, the room is very comfortable and clean and a good break fast is served.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Raymond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenXXXXX, Owner at Treetops Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Ray,
Thank you for such a nice review and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I know that you did because you have already booked your next stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to write the review which we really appreciate and look forward to welcoming you back shortly again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

The room was very clean with nice and cozy furniture. Great breakfast! Besides the great accommodation, the owners of the hotel were absolutely lovely and helpful. While waiting for the bus, I stayed in the lovely hotel garden and they even served coffee and homemade cookies. The service couldn't have been better. I will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Birte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenXXXXX, Owner at Treetops Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Thank you so much for such a positive response and so glad that you enjoyed sitting in our small but delightful garden. Thank you for taking the time to write the review and we value it greatly as it is a reward for all the hard work that we put into Treetops. We trust that you got home safely and enjoyed the rest of your holiday in South Africa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had a very comfortable stay here at the end of March 2014. We had an early morning flight and the guesthouse is literally 2 minutes in the free shuttle from the airport. The beds and rooms are basic but very comfortable with plenty supply of tea, coffee and biscuits! You will not be disturbed by planes, despite proximity to the airport. The staff were friendly and helpful. We recommend a stay here, particularly if you need to be close to the airport

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aoife M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenXXXXX, Owner at Treetops Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Your review is greatly valued and so glad that you all enjoyed your stay with us. Glad you enjoyed the goodies in the room and yes despite our nearness to the Airport flight noise is minimal as we are not near to the flight path. We have to see you again at Treetops sometime in the future and hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in South Africa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
3.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
1.5 mi away
Sir Roys At The Sea
Sir Roys At The Sea
#6 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
198 reviews
1.7 mi away
Forest Hall Guest House
Forest Hall Guest House
#1 of 232 in Port Elizabeth
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 43 in Summerstrand
340 reviews
3.9 mi away
Algoa Guest House
Algoa Guest House
#5 of 43 in Summerstrand
196 reviews
2.1 mi away
Conifer Beach House
Conifer Beach House
#5 of 232 in Port Elizabeth
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treetops Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treetops Guesthouse

Address: 44 Albert Road | Walmer, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: $40 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Treetops Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treetops Guesthouse is situated in the garden suburb of Walmer. We have safe onsite parking and offer a free shuttle service to and from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Treetops Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing