We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Treetops Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 238 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We spent the weekend here while going to the Rugby Sevens Tournamanet in PE. We were made to feel so welcome and the rooms were well done. The breakfast each morning filled us up for the day. Thank you to Stephen and Elizabeth, we will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenXXXXX, Owner at Treetops Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Claire and Jan,
Thank you so much for your positive review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us as much as we enjoyed having you stay with us. It was lovely to see how well the Blitz Bokke fans got on with each other and am sure new friendships were formed at Treetops. We really do hope you come back next year.
Again thank you for your review which is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 573 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

We were spending just one night at Port Elizabeth, at the end of the Garden Route drive in January 2012, and were supposed to take a morning flight to Jo'burg. Treetops was an ideal location for our requirement, given its proximity to the airport.

We found the guest house to be a very cosy homely place, and the owners were very hospitable and gracious. The rooms were nice and clean and the breakfast served by them was quite good. We had a nice stay, and wish we had more time to explore the city.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nirvaana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenXXXXX, Owner at Treetops Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Your review of Treetops is most appreciated and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope the rest of your holiday in South Africa was enjoyable. Many thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I've recently returned from a two week stay in South Africa with my Father. Five nights was spent at Treetops. The rooms were large and very well equipped with everything you could need. The location is excellent and the hospitality shown by Stephen and Elizabeth was superb. One highlight of the trip was a day's game reserve at Addo and Scotia that they kindly arranged for us which was incredible. The Ranger had us right next to lion, rhino, elephants et al, finished off with a dinner around a roaring fire. Not to be missed! My parents have stayed at Treetops on numerous occassions in the past, this was my first visit. I will definitely stay here on my next SA trip. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenXXXXX, Owner at Treetops Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Your most generous review of Treetops is most gratefully appreciated. We strive hard to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable stay at Treetops and your kind words show that we are achieving that. We look forward to having you back at Treetops sometime in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Only a block away from the airport, this is perfect when you arrive by plane in the dark. Easy to find and no risk.
Friendly welcome by our host. Basic rooms but with all you need for a good night's stay. Free WIFI is great! Everything looks a bit 'smallish' in this guest house, but it is tidy and clean.
Breakfast area located in a canvas-style area with a nice buffet and even à la carte if wanted.
The owners definitely made the best out of this place and location. For a quick stop before starting a tour this is very good value of money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Umberto-Huby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, Owner at Treetops Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you for your stay and so glad you enjoyed everything about Treetops, not sure what room you stayed in but Room 7 is our cheapest rate room and is a little bit smaller than the other rooms but general reaction from our overseas visitors is that they are surprised as to how big the rooms are. None the less you enjoyed your stay and yes my wife does a great breakfast which most people seem to enjoy. We trust that you have enjoyed the rest of your visit in our beautiful country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Starting our SA tour in PE, we wanted a nice place to stay not far from PE airport, which would accommodate our family of 5 for 1 night, before starting our 20-day tour of the Garden and Wine routes; TreeTops fit the purpose perfectly: it took us 5, no - 3 minutes, from the Avis Rent-a-Car depot in PE airport to TreeTops (and yet despite its proximity to the airport, the place was quiet as a whisper); we took 2 rooms, which were a good size and very nicely laid; Elizabeth and Stephen were very generous hosts, and breakfast was a treat; the place has its own parking, and our SUV rental had ample space to park; in sum: a wonderful starter for our wonderful trip to SA; thanks again Elizabeth and Stephen for all your kindness!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SemperParatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, Owner at Treetops Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you so much for your favourable review. Your comments are greatly valued and we are glad you enjoyed staying with us at Treetops as much as we enjoyed having you all stay with us. I am sure you would have enjoyed the rest of your holiday in South Africa and trust that you arrived safely home. Many thanks again for your lovely review which we greatly appreciate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here the night we arrived in South Africa, just looking for somewhere cheap and near the airport. Treetops was both, and really lovely with it! Very clean, very comfortable, and the owners were friendly and helpful. We would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here in the beginning of October having arrived in PE after dark and picked up the rental car. It was reassuring to know we only had about a 2 minute drive to get to the guesthouse while still a little unsure of the SA rules of the road. The architecture was so cute as it reminded me of Bedrock and was very comfortable with a fridge and microwave if needed. Stephen was super helpful and printed off an itinerary of Garden Route highlights and suggestions of things to do which was great as we got to see an interesting farmers' market in Sedgefield we would have never known about. As we left early, we did not get chance to have breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
3.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
9.3 mi away
Dolphin Dance Lodge
Dolphin Dance Lodge
#27 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
25 reviews
1.7 mi away
Forest Hall Guest House
Forest Hall Guest House
#1 of 238 in Port Elizabeth
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Conifer Beach House
Conifer Beach House
#5 of 238 in Port Elizabeth
244 reviews
2.4 mi away
Millard Crescent
Millard Crescent
#6 of 43 in Summerstrand
134 reviews
1.5 mi away
Millbury Guest House
Millbury Guest House
#3 of 238 in Port Elizabeth
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treetops Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treetops Guesthouse

Address: 44 Albert Road | Walmer, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 238 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: $47 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Treetops Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treetops Guesthouse is situated in the garden suburb of Walmer. We have safe onsite parking and offer a free shuttle service to and from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Treetops Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing