We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for rental car travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Treetops Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 225 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location for rental car travellers”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here in the beginning of October having arrived in PE after dark and picked up the rental car. It was reassuring to know we only had about a 2 minute drive to get to the guesthouse while still a little unsure of the SA rules of the road. The architecture was so cute as it reminded me of Bedrock and was very comfortable with a fridge and microwave if needed. Stephen was super helpful and printed off an itinerary of Garden Route highlights and suggestions of things to do which was great as we got to see an interesting farmers' market in Sedgefield we would have never known about. As we left early, we did not get chance to have breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    176
    25
    3
    6
See reviews for
104
258
43
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

it was our first night in south africa and we couldn't ask for a better choice. The location was great as it was very close to the airport and the owners were very welcoming and full of helpful information.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
521 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We only stayed one night but Treetops is an ideal location for the airport. The room was spacious and well equiped, we ordered breakfast which was excellent and good value. The owners are so helpful, gave good advice on where to eat and shop, they also confirmed our flights for us. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenXXXXX, Owner at Treetops Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Your review and kind words are greatly appreciated and helps us to maintain the standards that we strive to achieve. I am glad you had a great holiday in South Africa and that Treetops was up to your expectations. We hope to see you both again one day in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

It's literally a minute or two drive from the airport. It's gated in so we felt very safe and there was parking for our car. The rooms were spacious and clean. It was also only about a 5 minute drive down to the waterfront as well. Unfortunately we only stayed here over night for a flight so we didn't get to try the breakfast, but the convenience to the airport was great, especially for a 6am flight.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misstoscana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenXXXXX, Owner at Treetops Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for your review it is greatly appreciated. So glad that you felt comfortable at Treetops and that you enjoyed your stay. Your comments are appreciated as it helps us to maintain the standards that our guests require. Trust you had a great stay in our beautiful country and hope to see you both again one day.
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here with 3 kids
The owner is very helpfull
The place is beautiful and very clean.
Breakfast is excelent (I even got gluten free bread) including omlet, beans, hash browns, mushrooms, fruit salad and more

Highly recommened!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arisero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenXXXXX, Owner at Treetops Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us on your arrival in South Africa from Israel. It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us. Thank you for your review as it helps us to ensure that our clients are satisfied as it is important for us that you enjoy your stay at Treetops. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday here in South Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Really nice room and bathroom, the bathroom had a bath and shower. We ate at the chinese which was really great and it was not far from the guesthouse. Plus the location was great seeing as we were catching a flight.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenXXXXX, Owner at Treetops Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for your great review, we tried hard to maintain and improve our standards and it is through reviews that help us to do this. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again one day.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This was the perfect end to our trip on the garden route- conveniently located next to the airport (and while you can hear the planes taking off nearby we didn't hear a thing from 10pm-6am). The room was adorable and had just the right amenities (though no heat for chilly nights).

The service was perfect and breakfast was tastily served in a heated tented area. The husband & wife team were super friendly and helpful

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ijr117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenXXXXX, Owner at Treetops Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
iJR117,
Thanks for choosing to stay with us at Treetops and so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Sorry that you did not ask about the heater because every room has one and some of them are wall heaters which you probably were not aware of. We will ensure that our guests are aware of the heaters going forward. Thanks for taking the time to doing a review it allows us to improve and to maintain our high standards. Glad you enjoyed visiting our beautiful country.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
3.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.3 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airport
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airpor...
#24 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
51 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
295 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kelway Hotel
Kelway Hotel
#17 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
227 reviews
1.7 mi away
Forest Hall Guest House
Forest Hall Guest House
#1 of 225 in Port Elizabeth
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treetops Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treetops Guesthouse

Property: Treetops Guesthouse
Address: 44 Albert Road | Walmer, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 225 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Treetops Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treetops Guesthouse is situated in the garden suburb of Walmer. We have safe onsite parking and offer a free shuttle service to and from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Treetops Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing