We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hosts!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Treetops Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 230 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2012

You cannot beat the excellent service at Treetops. We were only staying in PE for a day and didn't have a car. Stephen picked us up when we arrived by bus late at night and then drove us to the mall the next day when it was pouring with rain and we were basically stranded at the hotel. The breakfast was excellent, room very comfortable and with a couple of decent restaurants within a few minutes walk this was the perfect place for us to stay. The airport is only 10 minutes away and Treetops also offers free airport transfers. We had a wonderful time thanks to Stephen and Elizabeth, they were lovely and really went above and beyond what we were expecting to make our stay such a pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenXXXXX, Owner at Treetops Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Michael L, Thank you for your response and positive comments. Valid comment regarding the bathroom wall not reaching the ceiling but it is something that we would like to update in the near future. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope one day to have you back.
Travel safely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
There are newer reviews for Treetops Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 547 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2012

A fine B and B in a safe and leafy part of town. We were travelling hard and didn't stay for breakfast, but at 6.00 Stephen was up to help us get packed up and away. Two comfortable en suite rooms were good value; one reservation I had was that the separating wall to the bathroom does not go the whole way to the ceiling- a bit odd I thought, but I'm sure it's a very clever and expensive design feature. Didn't spoil our few hours; safe, warm, comfortable and not expensive thanks to booking.com, we were happy. Good spot.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We booked the budget room because we were only a couple travelling. As per the description the budget room has an double bed and other rooms have a double and single bed. These rooms are attached to the house.

The actual room given to us had smelling of dampness in the wall. We requested them to change the room, which they obliged and transferred us to a bigger room for no extra charge.

The room has TV, microwave, tea/coffee maker, fridge (with milk and water) and basic utensils. The room was serviced and cleaned everyday. The bathroom had all toiletries.
There was enough parking space available.
The breakfast is not complimentary and we should inform them in advance if we want to have breakfast.

The bad part was -
The double bed is not even a queen size bed it was probably a 4x6.
The walls were not opaque enough. we could hear the conversations of people outside the room. This used to disturb sometimes.
There is no heater/AC in the room to control the temperature as it was very cold in the night. They had provided enough blankets to keep us warm.

Room Tip: Choose this hotel for easy airport transfer and not for leisure.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swatistays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

This little gem of a B & B made the perfect place to rest up after a long flight. Although close to the airport and ideally situated for other areas of PE, the neighbourhood is peaceful. Not only was the room comfortable and well appointed, but the owners provide a shuttle service as standard, making the last leg of the trip from the airport to the B & B worry free.

Stephen and Elizabeth have make you feel instantly at home and worked very hard to accommodate my needs and make sure that I had a comfortable stay. I highly recommend this B & B for business or leisure people visiting Port Elizabeth.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, Owner at Treetops Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Thank you so much for a positive review and it was lovely having you stay with us and that you enjoyed the experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Treetops sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

we had a very warm welcome, a very good breakfast and by the way just a few meters to drive from the airport

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, Owner at Treetops Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2012

Thumi,
Your review is greatly appeciated and glad you enjoyed staying with us as much as we enjoyed having you stay with us. The feedback helps us in improving our high standards which we so value at Treetops.
Sincere thanks again for the feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Just perfect to get anywhere in Port Elizabeth in 5 mins any directions and it's less than a 1 minute from the airport. Lovely rooms and service. The breakfast was a delightful feast each morning.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KDAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Generally, I dont like guest houses and B&Bs because they dont feel like accommodation establishments, you feel as if you have asked someone to let you use their extra room, with a lot of discomfort about the arrangement on my part, there are the limited working hours, the security guard with the key, this doesnt work for me! But I didnt dislike this place,the room size we were allocated as a family and the price we were charged were pretty amazing! As a stopover, I felt it served a purpose! Location to the Airport works, as well as the nearby Walmer Mall and a short distance to the Greenacres Mall, so really not a bad spot!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liyabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
3.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
1.4 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
326 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#1 of 13 in Summerstrand
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Forest Hall Guest House
Forest Hall Guest House
#1 of 230 in Port Elizabeth
421 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lungile Backpackers Lodge
Lungile Backpackers Lodge
#12 of 79 in Port Elizabeth
192 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 43 in Summerstrand
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treetops Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treetops Guesthouse

Address: 44 Albert Road | Walmer, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 230 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: $42 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Treetops Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treetops Guesthouse is situated in the garden suburb of Walmer. We have safe onsite parking and offer a free shuttle service to and from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Treetops Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing