We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hub Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The King Edward Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Paxton Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sir Roys At The Sea(Port Elizabeth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stadium Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
View Hotel
Bishops Inn(Port Elizabeth)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Chapman Manor House(Port Elizabeth)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kings Beach Backpackers(Port Elizabeth)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
The Windermere by Mantis(Port Elizabeth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveler rating
52
35
32
5
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
35
32
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswi fipublic areasbusiness tripclean roomsdstv channelskeep up the good workair conditionerrooms are bignice hotelone night stayclose to the airportpleasant staygreat place to staylocation is greatsecure parkingroom servicecomfortable bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 130 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here the night before a marathon in PE. Overall it looked better than what it was. Our hot water in our room didn't work properly which meant cold showers. No complimentary shampoo or soap so had to rush out to buy last minute. Then guests came in at 2 am making massive noise up and down the corridor for 30minutes (this obviously not the fault of the Hub but didn't help the experience).

Overall not the best stay, in future will opt for another hotel or BnB in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaleTucker_za, Owner at The Hub Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for your valued feedback.
We must apologise for the cold water - we have had heat pumps installed as a green initiative. Unfortunately on some occassions it takes a while for them to heat up to the maximum temperature. We do not supply 'cakes of soap' in the rooms, but we do supply a Bodywash/Shampoo combination in all our showers and a handwash on our basins.
We do hope that you come back and make some new memories with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I had a most enjoyable stay at this hotel. The modern bathroom and bedroom were well furnished - especially the large, comfy bed. We felt totally safe and secure, even our car was parked behind a remote controlled gate and electric fencing. Staff were friendly and helpful, serving us a good breakfast before we headed out for the day.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDocta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaleTucker_za, Manager at The Hub Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We appreciate and value your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here on a weekend away in March and in August and it was great. The hotel is in a great central location. The rooms are big and offer really good amenities and importantly are nice and clean. The price is also very good. Cafe's nearby, shops right there and restaurants around. - The Walmer Park Mall is around the corner! Great Value with friendly staff - great place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hester379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The only thing "boutique" about this hotel is the size. The building itself and the interior design are lovely, but the delivery could be improved significantly. The wifi is ridiculously expensive (way more than most 5-star business properties that I stay at) and doesn't work on Apple products... The buffet breakfast had only the cheapest products (nasty cheap sliced bread, orange juice that seems to be made from powder, instant coffee), the towels were thin and rough, poor TV channels, the Business Centre was out of order... What a shame, because a good boutique hotel is so much nicer to stay at than a big chain hotel. The Hub would not need to change much to improve significantly, but needs a lot more attention to detail. At the moment it is combining a boutique building with a cheap b&b.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Back_to_Sandringham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Good concept and lives up to the name of "Boutique" but it's miles from the beachfront and Summerstrand and, in fact, anything! It bills itself as a conference venue but you have to ask for a voucher to access the wifi and it wasn't accessible in my room. Really? Business travellers expect freely available wifi these days.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews