We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jeffrey Morifi”
Review of Amani Guest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amani Guest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Amani. It felt like home away from home!!
My wife and i really enjoyed our stay! we will definetly go back to Amani.Staff was very friendly and brakfast was lovely. thank you Amani


  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 89 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

The Venue is conveniently close to the airport and all the Main highways.The Staff are friendly and pleasant, the breakfast is excellent and the B&B has plenty of off road parking.The garden is pleasant with many bird species availably to admire.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Earl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had a nice stay at Amani Lodge! Although the overall location is slightly noisy due to aircraft and airport situated nearby, we enjoy a good breakfast and the hospitality of our guest.
We were particulary glad and touched when maids gave us a breakfast to take away knowing we have to take off very early the next day.
We would like to warmly thank them for this nice attention.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maurice_et_Delphine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Thank you Mel for the lovely 2 night stay. Our room was big and airy and very clean. The linen was absolutely spotless. We were very impressed with the security - each room has its own alarm system. Pity it wasnt summer as we would have loved a swim in your spotless pool.

Room Tip: The corner room at the end of passage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

After making a last minute booking to stay here, my room was upgraded for free by the lovely owner. She came and saw me personally during breakfast the next morning to let me know she had looked in to other accomodation for me close by, as she was unable to accommodate me for an extra night. The breakfast was amazing-eggs, bacon, sausages, mushrooms, fresh fruit and yogurt plus freshly ground coffee. Couldn't have asked for better service and facilities. I highly recommend the Amani Lodge to anyone looking for an affordable, yet very comfortable stay :)

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank 221,197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

When we arrived at 4 pm after a 7 hour car journey we were told that our room is not ready, because they are still cleaning it. when asked why, the lady at reception said because the previous guest left late.

When we checked our confirmation we were supposed to be in another room, we asked if that room were ready and low and behold... it was! one hour later the receptionist came to disturb us in our room to tell us we owe another R100 for the new room! Are they crazy?

I asked to speak to the owner on the phone, she said she would come immediately to sort out things. Still waiting!

Stayed: December 2012
1  Thank 7Gerhard7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melodeen B, Owner at Amani Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

The facts are as follows:-
Firstly the guest did receive a full explanation about the re-allocation of rooms, which was in the same catergory.
However due to their persistance in wanting the exact room, as per their confirmation, we honoured this agreement, which ment that the R100 discount received for the inconvenience of changing rooms no longer applied.
Once they received their room, no further issues were reported, beside the couple making continuous racial remarks at my staff when they were serving them breakfast.
At no point was I (the owner) contacted and made aware that there were further unresolved issues.
It is unfortunate that these guests have used TripAdvisor to further their malicious intent and racial intolerence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Me and my wife spent the last 2 days of our holidays in South Africa. We have been almost ignored by the lady at the reception. Our room has been changed because "thay had no more rooms" and was given a very small room that has nothing to see with the pictures of the hotel. The lady at the reception made some difficoulty to accept payment in credit card. The worse accomodation and treatment we received in South Africa.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaoloeSabrinaRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melodeen B, Owner at Amani Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

These guests from Italy booked via an online portial by choosing a budget room with shower only facilities. On this site the room dimentions and full description is detailed so that there is no room for misunderstandings. Well before arrival we upgraded these guests at no additional cost to them, to a Deluxe category, which was more spacious with full bathroom facilities.
On arrival my staff explained the upgrade, however it would appear the language barrier could have been an issue of them not understanding, that it was 'upgrade' and not a 'downgrade' as stated in their review.
With regard to the credit card machine not working, it was a temporary situation which was also fully explained to the guest, however once power was resumed, we were able to process their transaction.
In future these guests must be willing to 'pay' according to their 'champaigne taste'!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
17.5 mi away
Thunzi Bush Lodge
Thunzi Bush Lodge
#2 of 83 in Port Elizabeth
303 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Garden Lodge Guest House
3.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Dolphin Dance Lodge
Dolphin Dance Lodge
#27 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
25 reviews
0.5 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airport
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airpor...
#23 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
64 reviews
3.1 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
#24 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amani Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amani Guest Lodge

Address: 11 4th Avenue | Walmer, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: $58 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amani Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amani Guest Lodge, tucked away within the tree-lined suburb of Walmer, Port Elizabeth, is a welcoming retreat for those seeking the best of city living, combined with the warmth and comfort of a true African lodge. "Amani" is a Swahili word that means 'place of peace,' carefully chosen to represent the sheer luxury and relaxation of this sanctuary from the hustle and bustle of city living. The African cultures are known for their warmth and hospitality. Amani Guest Lodge is dedicated to maintaining this important theme, treating each guest to a unique, indulgent experience during their time in the Friendly City, as Port Elizabeth is affectionately known. Our sophisticated decor, attention to detail and graceful gardens all play their part in ensuring that our guests are pampered and relaxed at Amani Guest Lodge. In addition, Walmer is centrally located. Amani Guest Lodge is, therefore, within a few minutes' drive of the airport, major shopping centres, doctors, hospitals and even the beautiful beaches for which the Eastern Cape is known and loved. *** New ownership since 25th February 2016 *** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amani Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing