We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommended”
Review of Mongoose Manor

Mongoose Manor
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mongoose Manor
Ranked #27 of 232 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This extensive property lies on the outskirts of Port Elizabeth & is easily accessible from the N2 motorway without the need to risk getting lost in the city. Our room was spacious with a door a few metres from our car park & french doors opening on to extensive & beautiful gardens. There were facilities for self-catering but an evening meal could have been provided given notice - We ate at local restaurants 5mins drive away.Breakfast,as usual in S Africa , was lavish & well presented.We did not see a mongoose but bird-life in the garden made up for this!

Room Tip: ask for a room opening on to the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 75 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at Mongoose Manor for one night only recently, but it was enough to make an impression.

The room was spacious and well equipped. The kitchenette was well equipped and the mini fridge was well stocked with cool drinks, beers and snacks. There was enough space in the room for a nice breakfast table and a few extra chairs without anything feeling cramped. The bed linen was soft and clean, as were the towels. Breakfast was excellent. The en-suite bathroom was very spacious with a nice shower (our room didn't have a bath, not sure if any of the others do). I also noted that our room was well equipped for wheelchairs.

There is a big garden that is well maintained and absolutely beautiful. I do wish we could have stayed a few more days to enjoy a bit more of this.

Not too sure about the location. It's a nice enough area and we chose it specifically for proximity to an event we were in town for (PE city marathon), so in our case it was perfect. However, it's not very close to the town center and many of the main attractions in PE, so probably not ideal for everybody. If you have a car though, it's close enough to everything as PE isn't a very big city.

The owners were very helpful and went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bulave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed at Mongoose Cottage for a week and enjoyed the hospitality of great hosts while on business in the area. The traditional and antique wood makes for a warm stay. Positioned in the suburbs but easy access to all areas (including the office).The rainy weather did not permit me to explore their beautiful garden. Rooms are spacious and the breakfast was great. Will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Obru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

A convenient stopover for Garden Route visitors also proved to be comfortable for our 10 day business stay. Located deep in the P.E. suburbs but still convenient for National Road access this historical lodge is well appointed with nicely furnished self catering rooms and secure parking. Though some way from the beachfront and city centre there are numerous malls and restaurants nearby. Service was friendly and helpful without being intrusive and the breakfasts served are of a good standard. The only minor issue is the lack of WiFi internet access. Overall highly recommended at the price.

Room Tip: ask for a larger self catering room when you book as the inside rooms are smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afrocentric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Beautiful location and also convenient, as very easy to get back onto the main road (N2)to carry onto Addo Elephant Park ( about an hour away). Mongoose Manor garden is amazing, you can almost get lost in it! Rooms spacious with everything you need. Had an excellent night's sleep in the very comfortable bed. Breakfast tasty and served in a stunning dining room. The owners are fantastic!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Rooms were very comfortable and the owners very accommodating. The garden was a little oasis which was great to sit in for an afternoon and breakfast

Room Tip: All rooms seemed good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonnyb35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

We spent two nights at Mongoose Manor and loved it. The couple running the place are friendly and thoughtful. They put on a great spread for breakfast. Their garden is gorgeous - one feels far from the city! We even saw the mongoose family that the B&B is named after!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pippa121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
9.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
15.6 mi away
The Garden Lodge Guest House
6.6 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
#25 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
54 reviews
11.1 mi away
Murphys
Murphys
#2 of 4 in Beachview
27 reviews
5.6 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airport
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airpor...
#23 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mongoose Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mongoose Manor

Address: 245 Circular Drive | Woodlands, Port Elizabeth 6045, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: $52 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mongoose Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mongoose Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing