We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst ever”
Review of Bayworld

Bayworld
Attraction details
Lund
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst ever”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I have been to many museums around the world and aquariums too. To call this an aquarium is a shaming of that name. I have no positive things to say except that they seem to take care of the animals, The Xhosa exhibit can be interesting for a traveler.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MyMutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    37
    31
    24
    19
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very dissapointed”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

If you go to Bayworld thinking that it is an aquarium, you are in for a big suprise, our local pet shop has more fish tanks. The facility is run down and need a big intervention. There are only a few seals and penquins for entertainment. The museum experience is good (although very boring for the kids), and the snake park not too bad The dinosaur display has moving dinosaurs with sound effects which is really great, but very scary for pre-school children. Just know what you are letting yourself into before visiting.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Elanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Great little show with the dolphins and sealions - an enjoyable visit

Helpful?
Thank Robr55_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bit sad”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Marine section was closed for renovation so just the penguins and seals in very small enclosures there. The marine Museum was very interesting and we spent hours there.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank kerryoutram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“The Oceanarium was tired, tatty and the dolphins are gone.”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The only good thing about this place is that it was only R25 to get in. Despite that we actually spent a lot of time here.

The oceanarium was a complete disappointment. The dolphins had to be sent away to Hong King if I recall correctly. However they did do a sea lion feeding and penguin feeding, which were were able to watch. I wouldn't call them shows as such, but it was nice to see some interaction with the staff and we were able to talk to the staff there about the animals.

I felt that the penguins and sea lions were couped up in a small area. The whole place needs some serious modernisation, as it looks like it hasnt changed since the 80s.

The other side they have the snakes which are in glass cages. There wasn't anything particularly special here, and despite asking, we never did see any interaction with the snakes as the person who was supposed to be doing it was elsewhere and didn't come back when promised.

They have some terribly un realistic looking dinosaurs outside. Finally they have a general museum full of random stuff which is actually a lot bigger than you think it's going to be with plenty of stuff to see. Like an old car, some old dresses etc, information about ship wrecks around the Algoa bay etc. This side actually looked very refurbished and in a good state, unlike the Oceanarium.

If you're in Port Elizabeth and need something to do on the cheap, then I do recommend going here. There is ample parking outside. But do not go if you're travelling a long way, and do not go there for the oceanarium side of it.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank onlineamiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayworld also viewed

 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Bayworld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing