We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conifer Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Conifer Beach House
Ranked #7 of 224 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hogsback
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

We travelled back from the Western Cape and decided to stop over in Port Elizabeth. Conifer Beach House, what a find. An oasis of style, charm and luxury. Our room was divine and the breakfast was perfect. The best part was our host Jill who made sure everything was perfect. Thank you Jill for a wonderful stay. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    52
    16
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
71
17
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
East London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

I have stayed at a lot of bnb's before but I have never experianced staying at such a amazing! And beautiful place like conifer beach house, the sevice right from as I get out of my car until I get back into it to leave is brilliant! And the breakfasts are fit for a king and queen! I persanly would rather delay my meetings in PE if I can't get accomadation at the conifer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Conifer Beach House with 2 friends. Our room was very nice, big bathroom and perfect AC. Location was good and we were impressed by the fantastic help we got from the staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MAx622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

What a delightful experience stay at Conifer! The property was a small oasis within a short walk to the beach, but the best parts were Jill, the manager, and Junita, the owner. They were lovely and helpful in making our trip to Port Elizabeth both relaxing and culturally stimulating. We would choose the Conifer again and again, and we hope to return again someday.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Merrilee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

It felt like home! Friendly people and fantastic service. The place is peaceful, the gardens beautiful, the rooms big and clean, the breakfast great! There's also a pool which I didn't use because it was raining, but a nice place to relax. Great ambience, but above all fantastic service. I had to cancel one night with very little notice and still was not charged! The owner was kind enough to give me a lift to the airport! Location also good, not far from the beach. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sotichina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Was nice staying there, and the staff are very pleasant, i like the colourd lady that works there, if i can get her details, ill appreciate it. 0760961913.

hope to stay at the beach house again very soon...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Hello all. I was looking for accommodation at very short notice for the busy Festive season period 2,3,4,5, January 2014. I walked into the reception area on 1 January 2014 and felt at ease immediately. I was met by a fantastic lady Jill, who assisted me as if I was a family member. The rooms are spotless - FANTASTIC!!. They have wooden floors. You have your own mini kitchen - & fridge, ablution facilities, DSTV, ceiling fan, air-con - all in all, everything you need for a comfortable stay, right at your finger tips. "I thought that the long glass table was the cherry on the top". It is incredibly quiet at this residence. That is what I needed after the hectic Christmas and New year festivities. The free breakfast is really superb (fruit, juice, cereal, full English breakfast, coffee, toast, etc.), the breakfast area is also spotless and comfortable. Jill is very hands on and everything runs smoothly. After that breakfast you can really conquer the day! The gardens are lush, amazing vegetation. The large tall trees and shrubbery all around the house, makes you feel as if you are in a tropical garden (which in reality you are) and the swimming pool rounds it off. The rooms are cleaned every morning which is fantastic. The staff are very friendly, trustworthy, quick and efficient. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here, pity it was so short, could have stayed another week easily, but I had to get back work. The lounge area is very comfortable, with plenty of books and magazines. There is also a sound system if you want to listen to music. I was even given a free trip to the airport which I thought was very kind and thoughtful and really raised the bar with other establishments. They would be quick to call you a taxi, which is fine, but to offer it themselves is the mark of an establishment that really cares and puts their clients first. Really Top Notch. Thanks for an amazing stay. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND anyone to visit here ANYTIME! Kindest regards Jill and staff - have a super 2014, you deserve it xxx

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hilton2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
1.1 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 43 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lavender Terrace B&B
Lavender Terrace B&B
#5 of 224 in Port Elizabeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
2.1 mi away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 43 in Summerstrand
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conifer Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conifer Beach House

Property: Conifer Beach House
Address: 39 Windermere Road | Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 224 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Conifer Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conifer Beach House, TGCSA 4-Star Bed and Breakfast, in Port Elizabeth, South Africa, is a hidden gem closely situated to some of Port Elizabeth's most stunning swimming beaches, major beachfront attractions, as well as the city's airport. Once settled in at the beach house, amidst the splendour of Conifer's lush gardens, it is hard to imagine thatyou are in such close proximity to Port Elizabeth's bustling beachfront. The house is owned by renowned professional musicians, Peter Louisand Junitavan Dijk, and managed by well-known radio presenter, Jill Stewart. Conifer Beach House offers a unique experience in accommodation. Seven stylish units are nestled in the spectacular semi-tropical gardens, creating an oasis-like ambience. Privacy is a priority at Conifer Beach House: all guests have their own entrance, as well as private patios on each unit, leading onto the lush gardens. Most units are semi-self-catering with microwaves, fridges, kettles and crockery etc. Weber braais are available on request. The family unit easily accommodates 4 people and has a fully equipped kitchen with a dining area. Every unit at Conifer Beach House has a flat screen TV with DSTV, Free Internet Wi-Fi. Ceiling fans, air-conditioning, hairdryers, heaters, tea and coffee facilities, fridges and panic buttons (in case of medical emergencies) all add to the comfort and practicality of the units. The crisp white linen bedding contrasts with the colourful interiors of the units. A prompt and efficient laundry service is available on weekdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Conifer Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing