We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sir Roys At The Sea

Sir Roys At The Sea
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sir Roys At The Sea
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Goudhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overnight Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Great location for Airport. We were only an overnight stay after visiting the safari parks North East of Port Elizabeth. Staff very helpful in recommending restaurants to eat at and were also prepared to cook breakfast early before our flight in the morning. No complaints, good value and great location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 1988Graendog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    77
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
43
55
11
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tubingen, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Great rooms with sea-view, i really enjoyed sitting on the couch on the "balcony" to enjoy the sea view.
Great breakfast!
Great and quiet location of you need to travel to the airport. I truely recommend staying there!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sabrina234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

The rooms here were a very pleasant surprise, really nice size, comfortable and well decorated. I loved the high church ceilings of the upstairs room we had. Breakfast was good as were all staff we met. The downside is the passing airport traffic - not the end of the world but fairly loud during the night - also the location of the guesthouse isn't the best - I definitely wouldn't feel too comfortable walking to/from it especially after dark, although the house itself is totally safe. If it wasn't for the location and airport I would give this 4 stars - the accommodation itself and staff deserve 4.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have gorgeous high ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClairePrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, A
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Not a bad hotel for the price. The hotel surroundings left a lot to be desired ad the neighbourhood wasn't great and it was very close, if not under the landing path of the airport. Internet was poor.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JoMM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

From the professionalism of the staff to the view and tranquillity of the guest house; this is indeed a welcome retreat after a long business day. I can in all sincerity recommend Sir Roys at the Sea as a place to consider as accommodation when on business or holiday in Port Elizabeth.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lynne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

First port of call in a 2 week trip to South Africa and couldn't have chosen a better place to start our holiday.

Linda was incredibly helpful and welcoming and makes the best scrambled eggs - according to my husband.

She booked taxis for us and when we mentioned the cost of one trip she was straight on the phone to the taxi firm to ask why it was so expensive and they kept their costs down after that.

I was slightly disappointed by the view - there was a sea view but its more infustry than a beach - but I soon got over that.

Thoroughly recommended and goid value.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank piratepards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Had a lovely stay here. We're a young couple that came to watch S.A vs Aus at st Georges Park. Good location, lovely furnishings, hearty breakys. Overall, super stuff. The staff were very friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gareth Hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
6.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
5.5 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
3.6 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#9 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Blue Bay BnB
Blue Bay BnB
#10 of 13 in Summerstrand
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
5.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
6.3 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Roys At The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Roys At The Sea

Property: Sir Roys At The Sea
Address: 13 Perl Road | Humerail, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Roys At The Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sir Roys At The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing