We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Eltham Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eltham Lodge
Ranked #72 of 225 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We visited PE on family vacation in early December, and were very impressed with our stay at the Eltham lodge. Very cosy rooms, friendly ambience, quiet and very green environment - truly a home away from home. My son Eugene enjoyed the hearty breakfasts and running around the gardens after Buster the "Eltham" dog. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting PE and definitely look forward to staying there again next year.

Thanks for the warm hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vixmbithi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret T, Owner at Eltham Lodge, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
I love to hear such great reviews, Thank you, and even better you enjoyed your stay at Eltham Lodge.
We do appreciate your comments, and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
10
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Thank you Margret and Brain for the great week we had.

Our son Oliver loves your pool and the best scrambled egg in town :-)

Great B+B in well situated location in heard of PE.

Rooms fully equiped with all necessary stuff families need.

Great hospitality during the hole stay.

We are coming back!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Busti_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret T, Owner at Eltham Lodge, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Eltham Lodge in Port Elizabeth. We hope to see the entire family again. It was a pleasure having you.

Margaret and Brian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2011

arrived to the very freindly welcom , very clean , parking , and a fab full english breakys close to all amenitys , addo elephant park a great day out , 5 min from sea front thank u for a great few days stay hope to see u again , and the follow on to knysia hotel was well recomended
barry and lynn plymouth uk

Room Tip: great value great host english of course says it all
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baz5961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AD
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

ELtham Lodge is a small B&B about one street back from the beach front and only 10 minutes from the airport. The accommodation is separate from the main house in the back garden. Our room was a double but we had to squeeze in a fold away bed for our 3 year old son. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. Margaret and Brian, our hosts, were so generous and friendly. Our son took to Buster the dog straight away and are now life long friends! We had such a fabulous time hanging out in the garden in the evenings with Margaret and her family. The room was clean and adequate for a B&B with little extras like a fridge, microwave, and DVD player.
Breakfast is made to order every morning which is great. Most places want to know your order the previous night. It is great value for money and families with small, well behaved children will be well looked after!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ADmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
0.0 mi away
La Mer Guesthouse
La Mer Guesthouse
#49 of 225 in Port Elizabeth
45 reviews
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
20.3 mi away
The Garden Lodge Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
#25 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
49 reviews
17.7 mi away
Murphys
Murphys
#2 of 4 in Beachview
22 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eltham Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eltham Lodge

Property: Eltham Lodge
Address: 5 Chalmers Road | Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 225 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eltham Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eltham Lodge is an owner run Guesthouse offering bed and breakfast accommodation ideally suited for business or leisure guests offering a warm, friendly welcome, great hospitality and excellent three star graded accommodation.Large garden and pool facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Eltham Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing