We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best grilled fish I've ever had”
Review of Ginger

Ginger
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Ginger is a fine dining restaurant situated right on the beachfront of Port Elizabeth. The friendly city atmosphere carries across into our restaurant, where you will find our staff whose aim is to make your night 5 star worthy. Our combination of fresh ingredients, new cuisine ideas and an award winning wine list, means we have something to please everyone! We cater to our resident Foodies, Businessmen and those looking to have a special night out. Boasting an incredible view of what PE has to offer, Ginger invites their diners to sip their drinks on the deck while relaxing to the sounds and sight of the sea. Our restaurant, wine list and menu is constantly renovated to keep up with the trends in South Africa, while meeting the standards of our international diners. We strive to make your special occasions memorable and meet your needs. We hope to see you soon!
Reviewed August 25, 2014

I had the line fish, which turned out to be kingclip, and it was hands down one of the best meals I've ever had. It was cooked to perfection.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineMarketer, Online Marketing Co-ordinator at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your King clip and hope this means we will be seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards
The Ginger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

422 - 426 of 717 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2014

A business trip rather than a social visit so dinner for one. The service was excellent, at hand when needed and not in your face when not needed.

As for the food the duck parfait was delicious, sufficient for a starter and reasonably priced. For mains the kingklip on couscous. It was delicious - what else can one say, cooked beautifully, presented beautifully, and I ate it all - a clean plate.

Then the indulgence - the spice ice-cream selection. Another clean plate.

Would I go back, naturally. Roll on the next trip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank robert312663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineMarketer, Online Marketing Co-ordinator at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this ‘delicious’ review of our restaurant. We pride ourselves on fine dining at Ginger and are extremely happy to hear that this was in fact your experience.
Your meal selections all sound incredibly tasty and we are thrilled to hear that you fully indulged in them.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next business trip.

Warm Regards,
The Ginger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We visited Ginger this past two Sundays. It is lovely to sit outside if the weather is good. The setting inside is more formal, but service is excellent. Gino and Philemon is a asset and we enjoy their friendliness every time. Their Lamb Shank is absolutely the best!! We had the Lamb Burgers this past Sunday, and I might add that we were a little disappointed. Having had it quite a few times before, we found the patties much smaller and very dry. Also the topping on top was very sparse? The handcut chips were good as usual.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Salome P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineMarketer, Online Marketing Co-ordinator at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Thank you or taking the time out to write this helpful review of our restaurant. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your Lamb Shank, it’s definitely one of our favorites, and we are extremely disappointed to hear that your burgers were not up to standard. We pride ourselves on fine dining at Ginger and are extremely grateful for your feedback.

We hope to see you this Sunday again.

Warm Regards,
The Ginger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Very disappointed, Firstly when we arrived at 6.30 there were only 2 people in the bottom section. The maître de sat us right on top of them. When we asked if we could not have another 2-seater elsewhere ( there were at least 4 more options) he insisted they were all pre-reserved. When we left at 8.30 not ONE of these tables had been filled. Both ourselves and the other couple commented to each other that this was ridiculous and very uncomfortable. The food was very ordinary. Fish tasteless, vegetable tasteless. Crème brulee pre bought and not heated properly. The waiter was great and tried his best. All in all a very poor experience. Very disappointed and will never go again. Over rated and over priced. Beware

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank iceburg06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Great cocktails, friendly, attentive staff, tasty food and fantastic Lava cake. Not sure if it is expensive by SA standards but the equivalent in UK would have been double! Where can you get a cocktail for less than £3!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GillianGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginger also viewed

Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
 
Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
 

Been to Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing