We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value for money”
Review of Ginger

Ginger
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Contemporary, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Ginger is a fine dining restaurant situated right on the beachfront of Port Elizabeth. The friendly city atmosphere carries across into our restaurant, where you will find our staff whose aim is to make your night 5 star worthy. Our combination of fresh ingredients, new cuisine ideas and an award winning wine list, means we have something to please everyone! We cater to our resident Foodies, Businessmen and those looking to have a special night out. Boasting an incredible view of what PE has to offer, Ginger invites their diners to sip their drinks on the deck while relaxing to the sounds and sight of the sea. Our restaurant, wine list and menu is constantly renovated to keep up with the trends in South Africa, while meeting the standards of our international diners. We strive to make your special occasions memorable and meet your needs. We hope to see you soon!
Bolzano, Italy
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very good value for money”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We ate dinner at Ginger the evening we stayed in PE before taking an early flight to Jo'burg. The food was excellent and there was a good selection of food - even for vegetarians, which is not always the case in South Africa. The wine selection was excellent and the cocktails were properly done - the barman knew what he was doing and he made me a very good margarita, which seems a difficult task for many bar staff nowadays.
The service was attentive but a little overdone, however. Our waiter was competent in the normal things, but any questions that were a little different, such as what vegetables are on tonight, were a little over his head. He also tended to hover and whisked away our dishes even when we hadn't really finished. He was young, so probably eager, but perhaps a little more training could further improve the service.
Nevertheless, a very good meal for a decent price in a convenient location in PE.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank esp67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    187
    77
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful seafood, fab service”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

While staying overnight in summerstrand, the hostess of our guesthouse recommended this restaurant at the seafront. We decided to give it a try and we LOVED it! There is safe parking on site, the interior is warm and welcoming and the service is superb. Waiters are very friendly and explain the menu really well. There is an a la carte menu and a tasting menu of 7 courses including wine for 310 ZAR which is great value. We ordered a la carte and were really happy with our starters! We opted for baby squids as a starter and the avocado rice dish. Wow! The baby squids were sublime and really tasty. For a main course, I took the seafood platter and my hubby the crayfish. Both dishes were magnificent! The platter is great value and I couldn't even finish it. It comes with line fishes, mussels, fabulous prawns and calamari. All yummy! The crayfish was a really nice treat as well and while this Resto may be a little more expensive than others in the area, we thought all was well worth it's price. It's still far cheaper than in France. We would definitely come back if we're ever around PE again. Service was great too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank InekeParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Meal”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our hotel recommended this hotel. We had a lovely dinner, even the kids loved their meal. It is on the more expensive side but still a bargin when you convert to USD. Lovely restaurant, great staff, wonderful atmosphere would recommend.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank blueskygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinAlanC, Manager at Ginger, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Blueskygirl

Thank you for your review.
We are glad to hear you and your family had a wonderful “Ginger “experience.
Your compliments will most definitely be passed onto the team.
We hope to welcome you back The Friendly City in the future.

Kind Regards
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
324 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Very, very good”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I have been frequenting this restaurant on all my business trips to PE over the last couple of years. It never disappoints. Most of us ordered steak this time and it was perfectly done! The service is helpful and it is a lovely restaurant with beautiful furnishings. Definitely worth a try when in PE.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reenwoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montagu, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“what a dissapontment”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The setting is lovely and our waitron Clinton was excellent but my food was very disappointing- I ordered two starters instead of a main meal- first to arrive was the special of the day - rock salt smoked salmon- the portion was tiny and the taste was average. I also ordered the cheese souffle - it looked and tasted like a small, day old cheese scone! The manager kindly offered to replace it and suggested I try the fish soup instead.. oh dear - it seemed that a tin of tomato soup was warmed up and some frozen calamari and a few tired oysters were added to prepare this dish.. I wont be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginger also viewed

Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing