We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food - slow service”
Review of Ginger

Ginger
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Ginger is a fine dining restaurant situated right on the beachfront of Port Elizabeth. The friendly city atmosphere carries across into our restaurant, where you will find our staff whose aim is to make your night 5 star worthy. Our combination of fresh ingredients, new cuisine ideas and an award winning wine list, means we have something to please everyone! We cater to our resident Foodies, Businessmen and those looking to have a special night out. Boasting an incredible view of what PE has to offer, Ginger invites their diners to sip their drinks on the deck while relaxing to the sounds and sight of the sea. Our restaurant, wine list and menu is constantly renovated to keep up with the trends in South Africa, while meeting the standards of our international diners. We strive to make your special occasions memorable and meet your needs. We hope to see you soon!
Haifa District, Israel
Level Contributor
145 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“good food - slow service”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

it paid to wait too long time for the good food. the manager compensated us with free starters . that was because he sympathized with our apparent impatience...

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ehud f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey R, General Manager at Ginger, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Ehudf

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review Ginger.

I am happy to hear that your even after a slight delay in receiveng your food, you left it was worth the wait.

Kind Regards

Tracey Rivington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    191
    78
    25
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good choice but not mine!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was our third visit to Ginger and it still has that classy fine dining atmosphere it had eighteen months ago. My first choice of steak with marrow sauce was sold out and so I had belly of pork as did my husband. His was superb with lovely crackling but my crackling did not crackle! The waiter did offer to return it to the kitchen but I thought if two came out together they surely should be cooked the same. Never mind. The attentive service by everyone was great and the coffees and brandies out on the terrace under the heater made up for it all. A really top class restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank manytravels_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey R, General Manager at Ginger, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Good Afternoon manytravels_11

Thank you for your comments received on trip advisor.. I am sorry to hear that your first choice was sold out... it is a very popular dish. I am happy though, to hear that you and your husband where well taken care of by the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Ginger in the near future.

Regards

Tracey Rivington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Atmosphere was great , we sat outside and had a super evening celebrating two birthdays. Service was very good , the food was excellent , highly recommended. We had our 9 year old with and he was able to choose off the menu.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownHurdygurdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey R, General Manager at Ginger, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear CapeTownHurdygurdy

I would firstly like to thank you for taking the time to review Ginger on Trip Advisor and secondly thank you for the lovley comments. I will pass on your comments to the rest of the Ginger team. It was a pleasure hosting you and your guests.. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ginger in the near future.

Kind Regards

Tracey Rivington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent cuisine”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I took clients out for dinner, the food was superb, the service top class. A little pricey, the wine very expensive but on the whole a memorable meal.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bungy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey R, General Manager at Ginger, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Bungy19

Thank you for the wonderful review. It was an pleasure host you and your clients.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Ginger next time you are in Port Elizabeth.

Kind Regards
Tracey Rivington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What an experience!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We went for our anniversary, had a fabulous meal it was such a luxury experience, we even got a card of congratulations and a free dessert!:)

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank michelle_kleinhans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey R, General Manager at Ginger, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Michelle

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TA.
I am delighted to hear that you and your husband where spoilt on the evening of your aniversary. I will pass on our lovley comments to the rest of the Ginger team.

Kind Regards
Tracey Rivington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginger also viewed

Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
 

Been to Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing