We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, cute and cheap with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hippo Backpackers
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean, cute and cheap with friendly staff”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night between travelling but would have been happy to stay longer. We chose it as it was a collection point for the Baz Bus.
We booked a twin room which was clean and secure, with a small bathroom opposite. The kitchen area was large and clean, there was free wifi and a computer available for use, tv, pool, lots of info for travellers.
The lady who works there, Patricia, was very friendly and happy to help. She gave us directions to the local Spar shop and was quite worried we would get lost, and seemed genuinely relieved when we arrived back safely!
There is a resident dog too, a very old boxer called Tyson, who was lovely, really friendly and very comfortable around strangers.
Overall it was a very nice play to stop, we only wished we could have stayed longer as we arrived around 5pm and left at 6.45am the next day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catladylaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    14
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
13
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We were only in town for one night, but i think it would have been fine for 2--there were only four guests in the whole place so it was very quiet; great pool and poolside area, modest kitchen but it works, small indoor common area, braai area outside, decent sized dorms with worn but clean sheets, basic bathrooms but clean, tea and toast for breakfast; nice manager, very safe with a locked gate to the outside; they have laundry (30 rand for wash/dry/fold but it was out of order); they are close to a street with nice restaurants and bars which are open late (11 pm is when kitchens close) so it's safe enough to walk to and from the hostel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kpcharlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

On my trip to South Africa, the Hippo Backpackers has been one of my favorite places to stay so far! I really enjoyed the helpful and very friendly staff! Since I haven't been to PE before, they did a good job showing me around and explaining the directions to me on the map. In gerneral one can say that the Backpackers is basically quiet, and a really nice place to relax (especially with the pool ;)). But even if you don't feel like sitting at the pool or at the bar in the backpackers and would rather go out, Hippo is a good choice. You live just 2 mins away from a lot of good restaurants and cool bars.
To sum up my experiences i would say: one of the cleanest backpackers so far, save and fun area around, nice staff, good for relaxing and going out at the same time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2012

what a punch of unproffesional people!!!! I called to make a booking for one week, which was confirmed. Asked if I should make a deposit and/or confirm antything via e-mail. i was assured that the twin room was available and they don't even have bookings in the dorm during this week...today - check in date - I received a call, telling me that they don't have a room available after all..I actually did send a confirmation e-mail yesterday to make sure all is in order. Apparently they have a large group coming in - very obvilous, that if they did not have any bookings yesterday, only us - one room - they received a booking for all beds and decided that it was the better option for them and cancelled us - talk about greedy!!!! Now I have to look for a new accommodation....I do not advise you to book there - as maybe this will happen to you too - money talks....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birgit p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Elizabeth hotels

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed 3nights in double room, the shover was very small and night time was very cold and there is no heater, maybe summer is better for comming here. Othervise the place is nice,staff is very friendly and helpfull. We went to lion park and 1day to Jeffrey's bay. Tmrw going to Kruger for safari. If you planning to come here don't go to center sooo bad I mean the people , it is not safe at all and there is no much to do eather. You can go for coffe to dunkin reserve and that's it. Just do the safari here and get out. I was expecting more from Port Elizabeth . There is one guy he runs a taxi compani between port Elizabeth and Jeffrey's bay also take you anywhere he is very nice and cheap as well 0027824495735 it's 24 hours taxi

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kumanosin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heilbronn
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We had a short visit to P.E. Stayed only one night over and had a nice double room.
There is also a nice small swimming pool, kitchen and spot outside to sit.
close to the backpackers are nice restaurants (superstar charlie - very good pizza and pasta), bars and very good bakery. only 5 minutes walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoneRabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Traveling in low season I found myself to be the only one staying there one of my two nights and one of three people the other. The place was kept clean and the staff was laid back and friendly. Location seemed good as I was able to walk everywhere I felt like going.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stoberc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
2.5 mi away
Lungile Backpackers Lodge
Lungile Backpackers Lodge
#11 of 79 in Port Elizabeth
190 reviews
4.3 mi away
Island Vibe Port Elizabeth
Island Vibe Port Elizabeth
#2 of 7 in Summerstrand
201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newington Place
Newington Place
#86 of 230 in Port Elizabeth
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jikeleza Lodge
Jikeleza Lodge
#172 of 230 in Port Elizabeth
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
GuestHouse on Irvine
GuestHouse on Irvine
#48 of 230 in Port Elizabeth
53 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#164 of 230 in Port Elizabeth
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hippo Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hippo Backpackers

Property: The Hippo Backpackers
Address: 14 Glen Street, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in PE"S trendy and friendly neighbourhood of Richmond Hill where street-side cafes,restaurants and pubs are just around the corner, this owner-run lodge offers homely and comfortable accommodation in a garden setting.Centrally situated, The Hippo is close to most of PE's main attractions,banks,laundry and shops.Experience Port Elizabeth on foot while exploring heritage trails and art walks,historic sites,museums and arts and craft galleries. Thirsty? Have an artisan beer at a microbrewery,, then walk down the street and enjoy the vibe at our neighborhood pubs and restaurants.If this all sounds like hard work, you have the option to sunbath,read and swim in our hippo-sized pool while our friendly staff advice you on all adventure and culture activities on offer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing