We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TheDayIsAlreadyOver”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lungile Backpackers Lodge
Reviewed April 8, 2013

we (my mum and me) went to this place after a personal recommendation by two travellers we had met in Chintsa (Buccaneers') and were excited to get an impression of PE.
however, when we arrived at 4pm, our question "what can we do today?" was answered by a short "well, the day is already over..." which left us stunning but it was meant seriously. "well, thank you for that"

this event was followed by a series of disappointments like "waiting for staff to finish their meeting to get the wi-fi password (which didn't work anyways)", "no you have to pay now", "sorry the credit card machine doesn't work" and although we had a reservation for it, we didn't get the double en-suite (descrived by Roald O and others) but instead a 4 bed room dorm next to another dorm -> very nice oke but very noisy!!!
long story short: not a nice atmosphere, no help by the staff, dirty pool -> let's quickly get off and head to Addo Elephant...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaO1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe, Manager at Lungile Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear JaO1000,

Let me start this response with a heartfelt apology for the experience you had at Lungile. This is not the standard or quality of guest relations that we normally uphold.
Please note that we are doing everything in our power to rectify this incompetence. We truly appreciate your honest review and would love to invite you back in future so that you could witness first hand the changes that we have put into place following your feedback.

Kind regards from the friendly city.
Lungile Lodge Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Lungile Backpackers Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 192 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

Excellent facility, good value for money and very well located. Many oversees tourist visit the facility so you meet people from all over the world. Managers are friendly and helpful and the area is safe. Parking available and very clean grounds and dormitories.

Room Tip: 6 bedded dorm have a good bathroom inside
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FairySouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe, Manager at Lungile Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us FairySouthAfrica.

It's great to get feedback of this nature, we hope to see you back again soon!

Kind regards,
Lungile Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were really suprised how clean and tidy this hostel is. The doubles are very spacious, some of them have terrace with a great view to the beach. The dorms are very close to the common area, so it can get a bit loud there. Free wifi is also a plus. You can easily reach the beachfront (Boardwalk, Bars, Restaurant) by foot from the hostel. If you wanna go to the city centre or the Pick n Pay you might need a car. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EyelessView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe, Manager at Lungile Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Hi EyelessView,

Thanks for your review, we delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,
Lyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed in lungile for four nights. One of them was in a dorm, three of them where in the double. The dorm beds are oke, but they put a lot of beds in one dorm. This results in a quite noizy dorm with a lot af lights going on and people entering in late at night.

This is all made up for by the en-suite double. Beautiful room with poolview, nice comfortable shower and bed.

Lungile has a lot of permenent residents, studens or workers that return in the weekend but stay here during the week. These a friendly, openminded people that love to take you with them on their party strokes. It is not a quiet backpackers, but that is no problem for me at all.

The communal area is the best i have seen so far in a backpacker. Free pooltable is always a winner. Free internet and nice comfortable couches are the finishing touches.

Room Tip: If you have some extra money to spent, upgrade to the doubles. Definitly worth the money.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roald O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe, Manager at Lungile Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thanks for your review Roald, we are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay.

Hope to see you back at Lungile Lodge soon!

Kind regards,
Lyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights before volunteering at a game reserve. Pickup arranged through hotel was not at airport when we arrived. We called the hotel and they said they would send someone. Upon talking to others staying at the lodge they experienced the same thing so it begs the question whether they actually arrange for the airport transfer in advance or just wait for you to call or show up on your own once deciding to get a taxi. Private double was a very large room with sink and shower in main area and toilet stall behind folding door. Stayed during Winter season (July) so room was freezing at night! Cold tile everywhere didn't help. Great hot showers though! Main lodge/lobby area was nice with 2 large couches, pool table and computer. Main lodge/lobby was also very cold. Free wifi in lobby was available. Kitchen was large with cooking pots/utensils. Fridge was out of order and according to other guests who had stayed a couple of weeks previous it was broken then too. Not sure what the dorms were like as we had privates. 3 or 4 block walk from waterfront. Spur and McDonalds were just down the street and other restaurants nearby as well. Overall, decent place but if you have some extra cash hotel might be a better option.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeandLisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe, Manager at Lungile Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thanks for your review MikeandLisha.

At the time you stayed with us we had a standing arrangement with a taxi company to do all of our airport transfers. Since the taxi company failed to arrive punctually on numerous occasions we decided to terminate the agreement. We have since partnered with a different company and we can assure you that these situations will not re-arise.
The reason the fridge did not work was as a result of a reoccurring problem which has been fixed.

We hope you enjoyed your volunteering experience at the game reserve.

Kind regards,
Lyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I went to this backpackers b/c of the great reviews it received. Overall my stay was a little better than average. The first dorm I was in was quite dark and had a stench so I ask to move and it was no problem. The new dorm was much more brighter, had an ensuite bathroom, and seemed cleaner. The shower I used prior to the room change had mold all over the ceiling but the new shower was very clean.
The workers were all very helpful and friendly with any questions or concerns. I would recommend Lungile to others.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenCoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe, Manager at Lungile Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Hi JenCoo,

Thanks for your review and your willingness to recommend Lungile. The mold in the communal bathrooms has been cleaned and the ceilings have been repainted with an oil based paint. This should eliminate the mold problem for good!

Kind regards,
Lyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

A stone throw from the beachfront, Excellent location! for visitors not knowing the area, the staff members were also very helpful with giving easy directions' & a map, Very Cosy 'African vibe lounge' - at home feel, Free internet, (kitcen & tv room bit small & bathrooms cud do with sum upgrading in the main house) The Wooden cabin's outside's a bit cold for winter, but staff were very helpful to move us into a nice sunny room in the House :)

Room Tip: The main building is good for groups or solo's, whereás the rock built en-suites, wud be kwite r...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keenen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe, Manager at Lungile Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Hi keenen,

Thanks for your review. Upgrading our bathrooms in the main house is definitely onour list of renovations. We hope to have these renovated within the next few months.

Kind regards,
Lyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
2.0 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airport
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airpor...
#24 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
56 reviews
0.6 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
#25 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
53 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
328 reviews
0.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
120 reviews
1.8 mi away
Island Vibe Port Elizabeth
Island Vibe Port Elizabeth
#2 of 7 in Summerstrand
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lungile Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lungile Backpackers Lodge

Address: 12 La Roche Drive, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: $25 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lungile Backpackers Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Lungile Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing