We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would return if I was around the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lungile Backpackers Lodge
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Would return if I was around the area”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I went to this backpackers b/c of the great reviews it received. Overall my stay was a little better than average. The first dorm I was in was quite dark and had a stench so I ask to move and it was no problem. The new dorm was much more brighter, had an ensuite bathroom, and seemed cleaner. The shower I used prior to the room change had mold all over the ceiling but the new shower was very clean.
The workers were all very helpful and friendly with any questions or concerns. I would recommend Lungile to others.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenCoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe, Manager at Lungile Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi JenCoo,

Thanks for your review and your willingness to recommend Lungile. The mold in the communal bathrooms has been cleaned and the ceilings have been repainted with an oil based paint. This should eliminate the mold problem for good!

Kind regards,
Lyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    58
    23
    17
    4
See reviews for
8
35
63
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East London, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

A stone throw from the beachfront, Excellent location! for visitors not knowing the area, the staff members were also very helpful with giving easy directions' & a map, Very Cosy 'African vibe lounge' - at home feel, Free internet, (kitcen & tv room bit small & bathrooms cud do with sum upgrading in the main house) The Wooden cabin's outside's a bit cold for winter, but staff were very helpful to move us into a nice sunny room in the House :)

Room Tip: The main building is good for groups or solo's, whereás the rock built en-suites, wud be kwite r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keenen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe, Manager at Lungile Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi keenen,

Thanks for your review. Upgrading our bathrooms in the main house is definitely onour list of renovations. We hope to have these renovated within the next few months.

Kind regards,
Lyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in the dorm room four nights the first time and two nights the second based on recommendation. Upon first arrival in PE, I had booked a pick up from the airport and reminded the lodge the day before as requested. No one came and I had to call again from the airport. Same thing happened to my friends when they arrived a couple of days later. When I walked into the lodge, first impression was positive. When I was shown around, I was told the fridge doesn't work, nor one of the tvs. The fridge was a pretty big deal as I was staying a few days. When I walked into the dorm room I was overwhelmed with the smell of urine and the bedding was exceptionally old and worn. I was thankful for my sleeping bag as the single blanket provided would not have kept me warm. The one toilet in the dorm is so close to the wall you have to sit on it sideways so you don't smack your knees. The roof leaks when it rains and the toilet doesn't stop running. When I came back two weeks later, the fridge still wasn't fixed. The nearest grocery store is about a 30-40 minute walk.

On a positive note, the place seemed friendly enough. It is very close to the beach and some restaurants. The common area is pleasant enough. For a backpackers it's alright.

With some improvements, it could be a four star (which it claims to be). I am being generous in my three star rating the way it currently sits. Maybe the private rooms are better.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Honestly like a home away from home! I stayed here two nights and would reccommend this backpackers to anyone. The price is right, the staff are fantastic, free internet, a swimming pool, pool table, always someone to talk to, to drink with, and such a friendly safe environment. I stayed up chatting to the staff and other backpackers until about 6am on my first night! Perfect for those of you who want to party, but also quiet at night and very respectful if you need to catch some sleep or read by the fire. Kitchen available for use, fridge to store any food you want to buy, near to everything - perfect! Would love to come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maeve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Was a nice hostel good staff and cool feel to it!! stayed in a private room and dorms! had no problems in either! really close to the beach! a little bit of a walk to the shops but that was fine, had a pool but when i was here no one went in it!

Room Tip: no fitness centre! but everything else was cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Lungile Lodge is one of the reasons Port Elizabeth is known as the 'The friendly city', of this I have no doubt.

I've been spending at least 7 - 10 days of every month at Lungile Lodge, I live in Cape Town, but my company is based in Port Elizabeth. Even though I've been given the choice to stay in hotel or a B&B in so called 'quality accommodation' I choose to come right back to the backpackers, a place, which thanks to the wonderful people who work here, feels like my home away from home. They go out of their way to make the many people from all over the world, passing through, experience the essence of South African hospitality.

It has changed my perspective on backpackers in general, as well as Port Elizabeth.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MHennink78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

port elizabeth ends up being a stopping point in any direction you travel, and lungile is a great place to stay, close to the airport AND the beach. the staff were friendly enough, the bunks and washrooms fairly standard issue but clean. the hostel has a great living room area, with couches and fireplace, very nice for hanging out in. close enough to food and fun as well, and easy to get to the city centre.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soleron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
2.0 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airport
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airpor...
#24 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
53 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.6 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
#25 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
299 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
475 reviews
1.8 mi away
Island Vibe Port Elizabeth
Island Vibe Port Elizabeth
#2 of 7 in Summerstrand
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lungile Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lungile Backpackers Lodge

Property: Lungile Backpackers Lodge
Address: 12 La Roche Drive, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lungile Backpackers Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and HostelWorld so you can book your Lungile Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing