We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of a few improvements”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lungile Backpackers Lodge
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed in the dorm room four nights the first time and two nights the second based on recommendation. Upon first arrival in PE, I had booked a pick up from the airport and reminded the lodge the day before as requested. No one came and I had to call again from the airport. Same thing happened to my friends when they arrived a couple of days later. When I walked into the lodge, first impression was positive. When I was shown around, I was told the fridge doesn't work, nor one of the tvs. The fridge was a pretty big deal as I was staying a few days. When I walked into the dorm room I was overwhelmed with the smell of urine and the bedding was exceptionally old and worn. I was thankful for my sleeping bag as the single blanket provided would not have kept me warm. The one toilet in the dorm is so close to the wall you have to sit on it sideways so you don't smack your knees. The roof leaks when it rains and the toilet doesn't stop running. When I came back two weeks later, the fridge still wasn't fixed. The nearest grocery store is about a 30-40 minute walk.

On a positive note, the place seemed friendly enough. It is very close to the beach and some restaurants. The common area is pleasant enough. For a backpackers it's alright.

With some improvements, it could be a four star (which it claims to be). I am being generous in my three star rating the way it currently sits. Maybe the private rooms are better.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 197 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2012

Honestly like a home away from home! I stayed here two nights and would reccommend this backpackers to anyone. The price is right, the staff are fantastic, free internet, a swimming pool, pool table, always someone to talk to, to drink with, and such a friendly safe environment. I stayed up chatting to the staff and other backpackers until about 6am on my first night! Perfect for those of you who want to party, but also quiet at night and very respectful if you need to catch some sleep or read by the fire. Kitchen available for use, fridge to store any food you want to buy, near to everything - perfect! Would love to come back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maeve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Was a nice hostel good staff and cool feel to it!! stayed in a private room and dorms! had no problems in either! really close to the beach! a little bit of a walk to the shops but that was fine, had a pool but when i was here no one went in it!

Room Tip: no fitness centre! but everything else was cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Lungile Lodge is one of the reasons Port Elizabeth is known as the 'The friendly city', of this I have no doubt.

I've been spending at least 7 - 10 days of every month at Lungile Lodge, I live in Cape Town, but my company is based in Port Elizabeth. Even though I've been given the choice to stay in hotel or a B&B in so called 'quality accommodation' I choose to come right back to the backpackers, a place, which thanks to the wonderful people who work here, feels like my home away from home. They go out of their way to make the many people from all over the world, passing through, experience the essence of South African hospitality.

It has changed my perspective on backpackers in general, as well as Port Elizabeth.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MHennink78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

port elizabeth ends up being a stopping point in any direction you travel, and lungile is a great place to stay, close to the airport AND the beach. the staff were friendly enough, the bunks and washrooms fairly standard issue but clean. the hostel has a great living room area, with couches and fireplace, very nice for hanging out in. close enough to food and fun as well, and easy to get to the city centre.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soleron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Very relaxed place, beer, pool and pool...; as in billards and swimming. Had fun playing pool with Freddy, and good times with the braai next to the pool. See you next time!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We had an awesome staying my family and I, the rooms were very clean and quiet. We loved play pool with Fred, he is so funny and always smiling, Bibby was it too. We would have staied longuer but we run out of time but for sure we will come back again soon!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank carmina o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
9.2 mi away
Dolphin Dance Lodge
Dolphin Dance Lodge
#26 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
25 reviews
0.8 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
#24 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
55 reviews
2 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airport
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airpor...
#23 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
1.8 mi away
Island Vibe Port Elizabeth
Island Vibe Port Elizabeth
#1 of 7 in Summerstrand
234 reviews
2.1 mi away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#2 of 238 in Port Elizabeth
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lungile Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lungile Backpackers Lodge

Address: 12 La Roche Drive, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: $27 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lungile Backpackers Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Lungile Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing