We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hacklewood "delight"”

The Hacklewood Restaurant
Ranked #41 of 345 Restaurants in Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Imagine a bygone era of colonial charm, good conversation and fine dining - now let us take you there. Hacklewood Hill Country House is a luxurious 5 star hotel situated in Walmer, Port Elizabeth. Indulge in an exclusive getaway and experience individually decorated bedrooms, large Victorian bathrooms, private verandas overlooking the magnificent gardens and cosy fireplaces. If that isn't enough, let our cordon bleu Chef thrill your palate with exquisite meals in The Restaurant. Hacklewood Hill Country House is also home to an exclusive conference venue, The Garden Room.
Port Elizabeth
1 review
“Hacklewood "delight"”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

What an amazing experience, and a destination which I will definitely re-visit! The food was out of this world. An elegant ambience which sets the mood for relaxation but in English country style!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharcape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    11
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most luxurious place I have ever been to & the food was out of this world!”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My partner & I went to Hacklewood Hill last friday. We have heard so any great things about this heavenly place so decided to try it out :) Whoa we had a real taste of the good life!!!The staff was amazing our waitor Paul was a real gentleman he was so friendly & kept our glasses full the whole night we didn't even have to ask him. As for the FOOD my goodness I am not joking when I say the food was out of this world!! I do not think I have ever had good food like that in my life. The ambience of the house with the fine silver cutlery to the chandeliers with soft music in the backround was just perfect!Too excited to bring our friends there to experience it with us :) Thanks so much to the staff you guys were great!! XX

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Naidine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Old world elegance”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The ambience sets the scene for a most enjoyable experience. This is a restored colonial estate that offers the weary traveler a different hotel experience which is today all too rare. The rooms are tastefully furnished using antiques and period decor. The dining area is gracious, the food superb, the wine menu extensive and the service good. Overall good value for money.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
103 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

Great food and a fantastic wine selection. Service was personal and not intrusive. Wonderful evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ADBarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Stunning cozy venue and the food is very good. Homely feel and sometimes they put all elec off and only use candles-very romantic

Helpful?
Thank SonelvdB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hacklewood Restaurant also viewed

Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to The Hacklewood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing