We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a very comfortable good value place to stay. The staff is very helpful and warm. I love the homey touches. The breakfast is outstanding and worth every rand! Don't miss out. I stayed in a dorm but it was not crowded and was very clean! There is a nice garden, bar and sitting area. Wish I could stay longer. Thanks!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovinsc_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Hi there

Thank you so much for writing a fantastic a review about Nothando. We really appreciate it. Our guests always come first and we so enjoy running the hostel.

Whenever you are in the RSA again, please come and stay with us.

Kindest regards
The Nothando Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 220 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

The local staff is friendly, highly competent and extremely helpful. The kitchen is spotless and our room was as nice as any guesthouse. Evenings are a highlight in the homey lounge. No brainer-- stay here in pricey Plettenberg Bay.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PK1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Good day

Thank you so much for taking time out to write this wonderful review of Nothando Backpackers.
Much appreciated, we enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you some time again in Plettenberg Bay staying at Nothando.

We take pride in our hostel and it is always great to get feedback from our guests.

kindest regards
The Nothando Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

On our arrival Jessica showed us around the location and explained us where all the restaurants are in Plettenberg Bay. She was very kind and helpful.

The Nothando Backpackers is situated a short walk off Main Street where most of Plett's Business takes place.

We stayed for two nights. After the first night they maid up our bed again which was very nice but rather unexpected since they name themselves a "backpacker".

Furthermore the location offers offroad parking, has a fully equiped kitchen and a tv room. There is also a bar within the premisis.

The only downside was that i thought the mattress was a little too soft. Maybe I'm just too heavy though! ;-)

Breakfast is available for ZAR 8.00. Can't comment on that because we never had brekkie there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jTrippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank yo so much for your lovely review of Nothando. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review.

Hope to see you again at Nothando in the near future.

Kindest regards
The Nothando Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Five star backpacking, and I am sure the staff is responsible for that fifth star. Eunice at the reception and Jessica at the bar - we adore you! All in all a perfect place to stay, right in the center of town. The rooms were big, clean and modern. An interesting feature was the bathroom hidden behind a wall of closets. Lovely breakfast. The staff will also provide discounts for Monkey World, Birds of Eden etc. if you ask them.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeciliaSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Cecilia

Thank you very much for the wonderful review you gave Nothando. The staff members of Nothando have been working here for many years, and still love and enjoy our guests. We are like a family.

Our guests are very important to us, and we love it when you have enjoyed your stay.

Please visit us again.
Kindest regards
The Nothando Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

A perfect place to stay and discover Plettenberg.
It´s clean, it´s very quit and the Staff is really really nice.
You really feel "at home" staying at Nothandos.

A big plus is the free WiFi at Nothandos. You have a good signal in the rooms.
The Price is very fair. So all in all we had a great time at Nothandos.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Per76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Dear Per

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando. We really appreciate it that you took the time to give feedback on Nothando. Happy guests make us very happy.

We enjoyed your stay and hope to see you at Nothando's again.

Kindest regards
The Nothando Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I had an Amazing time at Nothando Backpak! Free internet/WiFi, wonderful 5 star Backpacker accommodation, dorms are nice, clean, quiet, have bedside lights, some dorms have an attached en suite, safe feel with good security, great bar with a great a Bar staff (Elvis and Jessica)! Ask about a Potjiekos meal if you can! If you are heading to Plett, stay at Nothando's! Mention that you spoke with 'Scott Land' about this place, and Elvis will hook you up! I cannot say enough good things about Nothando, Great Vibe!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott_Land_Afrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear "Scott_Land"
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando Backpackers. We really appreciate the time you took to write the review.

We all enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you again in Plettenberg Bay and staying at Nothando.

Happy guests make us very happy.
XXX
The Nothando Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We only stayed for one night, arriving at around 8pm and departing at 7am. This was literally a drop bags, sleep, kind of stop. The room was clean and functional - large bathroom and bedroom and had an additional sofa bed, together with a TV, safe and hairdryer. Parking was also fine (I was expecting much worse after reading the comments on here - it wasn't our experience at all) and is safe behind large electric gates. We aren't backpackers (this was actually part of our honeymoon) so we were pleased to note that it was super quiet - more like a B & B than a backpackers of our younger days - although the bar area definately had an atmostphere. I think it was quiet because the double en suite rooms are at opposite ends of the back of the house/garden area rather than because its not cool.

We didn't go out that evening as we were shattered, so ate in the lively bar and kicked off our shoes by the big fire. The bar was great - £1 GBP for a large glass of wine and about £3 for a huge bowl of pasta that could have fed two.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeccaB521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Hi there Becca

Thank you so much for your lovely review of Nothando. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review.

Hope to see you again at Nothando.

Thank you
The Nothando Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plettenberg Bay
3.3 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo for Backpackers
Albergo for Backpackers
#15 of 73 in Plettenberg Bay
121 reviews
2.3 mi away
African Array Lodge
African Array Lodge
#11 of 73 in Plettenberg Bay
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Rocky Road Backpackers
Rocky Road Backpackers
#5 of 9 in The Crags
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments
Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments
#25 of 73 in Plettenberg Bay
194 reviews
18.3 mi away
Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nothando Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nothando Backpackers Lodge

Address: 5 Wilder Street, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $12 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nothando Backpackers Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Nothando Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing