We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was beyond any doubt my best stay in South Africa. Stayed in a single en-suite. The bedding was crisp and there were extra blankets. All the amenities (usually associated with hotels) such as TV, hairdrier, kettle etc.were included. The managers are friendly and very helpful. The delicious breakfast was a great way to start the day. Warm atmosphere throughout whole hostel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Barbara

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando Backpackers. We always give of our best and it was a pleasure having you stay with us. Nothing gives us more pleasure than having happy and content guests.

Please visit us again in the near future.

Maryna Dreyer (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 230 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. A little too long. Very few restaurants open in the town. The hostel itself is clean, however without sounding ungrateful for their hospitality I felt that any suggestions they had for us were a constant way of trying to make money from us. We agreed in advance to the braii and paid all our money in advance and then 5minutes before it was due to start they informed us that the price had gone up! This additional 45% was not for the food (as we had been informed) but for a 'commission' for the chef- who accosted us the next morning as we were in bed looking for her tip. ! This definitely spoiled our stay and would be reluctant in returning or recommending.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMargaretH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear Margareth

I am very sorry about your negative experience of Nothando. Our hostel has never been known as a place to take money off our guests.

The price for the braai was a misunderstanding between Elvis the GM and the chef. A braai is R70,00 pp which is very good value for money. The extra R20,00 pp was not a tip for the chef, but to cover her costs. She is a single mother who works very hard to put her 2 children through school. I fully agree she should not have gone to your room and accosted you, it could have been sorted out at reception. For this behaviour I apologise.

We always give of our best and try at all times to make our guests happy and content.

Please come and visit Nothando again.

Maryna Dreyer (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed in a double en suite for 4 nights. The room was very clean and spacious. With everything you could possible want. It even had hairdryers and after being on an over lander for 25 days, this was luxury. The beds were amazingly comfortable. This is a family run business. Everyone is extremely friendly and helpful. And Elvis's son Lukhanyo who is only 4 is very friendly :) ... The bar is an added bonus. And they have a small menu should you wish some home cook food. This is made to order. We can recommend the lasagne. I think this is so far the best place we have stayed along the garden route.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Darren

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Nothando Backpackers. We really appreciate your feedback.

Please come and visit us again, it was a pleasure having you as guests.

Kindest regards
The Nothando Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed in the dorms. Excellently equipped rooms with separate reading light for each bed, and lockable cupboard. Fan and Separate toilet and bathroom for the dorm. Clean and comfortable. Nice bar with satellite television. Kitchen well stocked. Helpful managers. Within walking distance to shop and beach. Homey feeling to the whole place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear James

Thank you for your review. it was wonderful having you stay at Nothando. Please come and visit us again.

Kind regards
Nothando team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Really nice hostel with excellent service. Rooms are clean and very correct. Best option. Exceed expectations as hostel. Rooms with ensuite are worth. Location is also good and has a parking area inside

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albertxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. We enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.
Nothando team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This place is definitely worth the penny spent. Good hotel type rooms, but outside of it, warmth of a hostel. They have a great collection of DVD's, books and a cozy room to enjoy them. The kitchen is well equipped and clean. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Location is quite near to the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ag_Apurva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We enjoy running Nothando and try to always give our best to our travellers.
The Nothando Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed in an ensuite room with my girl friend. I appreciated the place more the longer I stayed. For example, I think it is one of the few palces that provided electric sockets that permit just about any type of plug. There was a kerosene lamp which added a nice touch. Small little brown bags to stash stuff away. Clean and neat and tidy. It's not gorgous or charactersitc but comfortable and very reasonably priced by Plett bay standards. Plus I prefer the location near Main street rather than by the bay and the water - more locals and livelier.

Room Tip: The Table restaurant was one of my favorites during my two week stay in SA. Not to miss. Try the ost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ziad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you so muchfor your wonderful review of Nothando Backpackers Lodge. We really appreciate it.

Please come and visit us again.
The Nothando Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plettenberg Bay
1.5 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
816 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo for Backpackers
Albergo for Backpackers
#14 of 77 in Plettenberg Bay
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
African Array Lodge
African Array Lodge
#11 of 77 in Plettenberg Bay
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments
Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments
#26 of 77 in Plettenberg Bay
210 reviews
18.3 mi away
Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nothando Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nothando Backpackers Lodge

Address: 5 Wilder Street, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $13 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nothando Backpackers Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Nothando Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing