We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed in the dorms. Excellently equipped rooms with separate reading light for each bed, and lockable cupboard. Fan and Separate toilet and bathroom for the dorm. Clean and comfortable. Nice bar with satellite television. Kitchen well stocked. Helpful managers. Within walking distance to shop and beach. Homey feeling to the whole place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear James

Thank you for your review. it was wonderful having you stay at Nothando. Please come and visit us again.

Kind regards
Nothando team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    39
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
86
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Really nice hostel with excellent service. Rooms are clean and very correct. Best option. Exceed expectations as hostel. Rooms with ensuite are worth. Location is also good and has a parking area inside

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albertxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.
Nothando team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This place is definitely worth the penny spent. Good hotel type rooms, but outside of it, warmth of a hostel. They have a great collection of DVD's, books and a cozy room to enjoy them. The kitchen is well equipped and clean. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Location is quite near to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ag_Apurva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We enjoy running Nothando and try to always give our best to our travellers.
The Nothando Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed in an ensuite room with my girl friend. I appreciated the place more the longer I stayed. For example, I think it is one of the few palces that provided electric sockets that permit just about any type of plug. There was a kerosene lamp which added a nice touch. Small little brown bags to stash stuff away. Clean and neat and tidy. It's not gorgous or charactersitc but comfortable and very reasonably priced by Plett bay standards. Plus I prefer the location near Main street rather than by the bay and the water - more locals and livelier.

Room Tip: The Table restaurant was one of my favorites during my two week stay in SA. Not to miss. Try the ost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you so muchfor your wonderful review of Nothando Backpackers Lodge. We really appreciate it.

Please come and visit us again.
The Nothando Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights after travelling from Cape Town and having two nights in the Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve. This was a perfect place to stay in Plett as it is very central and you can easily walk to the restaurants on Main Road, plus a slightly longer walk down to the beach. Be warned - the walk back from the beaches are uphill all the way and can be quite challenging after a couple of glasses of wine!
The rooms are very clean and the staff were very helpful as they can arrange an array of things for you to do whilst staying in Plett - anything from visiting an elephant sanctuary to skydiving or scuba-diving. Plett is certainly a place for doing activities like them.
If you want somewhere exciting in the evening though, forget about it. Plett is very, very quiet and the restaurants generally close down at around 10pm. So a party town it is not.
However, Nothando is excellent and a great, cheap place to stay - don't bother with any of the fancy places in Plett, just go here.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked of good quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abeyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We really appreciate it. We always try our best to give our travellers only the best.
The Nothando team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Nothando backpackers exceeded our expectations. We were greeted with huge smiles and open arms from the moment we entered. We stayed in a double rooms which was clean and well decked out (it even had its own clothes line!). Would recommend and stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando. We enjoy our guests and always try to our best to make your stay unforgettable.
The Nothando team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We really didn't have the feeling that we were staying in a backpackers. It felt more like a hotel with the level of service and attention to detail. There is something special for everyone at Nothando. The staff are very knowledgeable about the area and give great advise as to plan a day of fun. Sarah is very entertaining. It was truly a home form home experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando. Please come and visit us again, Sarah and all of us are looking forward to your next visit.
The Nothando Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.5 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#11 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
African Array Lodge
African Array Lodge
#11 of 68 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo for Backpackers
Albergo for Backpackers
#14 of 68 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments
Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments
#21 of 68 in Plettenberg Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nothando Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nothando Backpackers Lodge

Property: Nothando Backpackers Lodge
Address: 5 Wilder Street, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Nothando Backpackers Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Nothando Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing