We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place in Plett”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Nothando backpackers exceeded our expectations. We were greeted with huge smiles and open arms from the moment we entered. We stayed in a double rooms which was clean and well decked out (it even had its own clothes line!). Would recommend and stay there again!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando. We enjoy our guests and always try to our best to make your stay unforgettable.
The Nothando team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 216 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

We really didn't have the feeling that we were staying in a backpackers. It felt more like a hotel with the level of service and attention to detail. There is something special for everyone at Nothando. The staff are very knowledgeable about the area and give great advise as to plan a day of fun. Sarah is very entertaining. It was truly a home form home experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando. Please come and visit us again, Sarah and all of us are looking forward to your next visit.
The Nothando Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Good location, one block from the main street, walking distance or a short drive to the beach. Our room was right on the parking lot so could be noisy in the morning. The car parking was very secure with an access code and, although it was busy and they sometimes had to juggle things a bit, we always got a space. Impeccable room which was made up every day, there were also nice touches like toiletries in the bathroom, a hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities – basically a hotel room in a hostel environment. For info neither breakfast or wifi are included. The staff were present, helpful, very professional and service orientated. There are currently no braai facilities (although I understand that may change shortly) but there is a well equipped communal kitchen and a convivial bar.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stinaandjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review of Nothando. We are a bit puzzled about the braai facilities. We actually have 1 indoor and 1 outdoor braai facility. Please come and visit us again.
The Nothando Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I read the great reviews in the South African backpacker Coast to Coast and Rough Guide and decided to try it out - it exceeded my expectations! One of the cleanest, nicest hostels I can remember, complete with soaps and even hand creams. Nothando does a fantastic job of pleasing the customer and I hope to return someday.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank txvago1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando. It makes us so happy when our guests leave happy travellers. Hope you will visit us again in time to come.
The Nothando Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

In a history of nice back packers from Cape town to Johannesburg, nothando back packers was the best I stayed in. The prices were so reasonable, yet it was 5 star. The dorms were so nice and clean, the staff were so friendly, they provided so much information about all the activities to do in the area and are more than willing to help you organize your activity or trip for the day. Their bar area of so relaxed and had such a good friendly atmosphere and the fact that they had a movie room with their own DVDs for a lovely side bonus for me!

All in all, a fantastic back packers, and I wold recommend them to any one going to plett!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Nothando. We love Nothando, and it makes us very happy to know our guests enjoyed themselves at our Lodge. Please come and visit us again.
The Nothando team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Having spent six weeks driving all the way from cape town up to swaziland and staying in many backpackers hostel's along the way, i can say that this was the best hands down. It is clean and decent oasis along the way. The owners were very friendly and warm people.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
Thank Punack10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your great review of Nothando. We would love you to visit us again.
The Nothando Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

have visited nothandos on several occasions over the last ten years and it continues to be the best place to stay in plettenberg bay.beds always comfortable, lovely linen, very 'female friendly' bathrooms/en suites, nice breakfast spread and nice little bar and silly canine companions.what more do you need?for the person who wrote the previous uncomplmentary review, you are a total misery!!
Dominic

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robbycockles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Hallo Dominic
Thank you for your wonderful review of Nothando. We always try to give our guests only the best. Please come and visit us again.
The Nothando team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
3.3 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo for Backpackers
Albergo for Backpackers
#13 of 71 in Plettenberg Bay
121 reviews
6.4 mi away
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
#4 of 71 in Plettenberg Bay
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
African Array Lodge
African Array Lodge
#11 of 71 in Plettenberg Bay
255 reviews
10.8 mi away
Rocky Road Backpackers
Rocky Road Backpackers
#5 of 9 in The Crags
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments
Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments
#22 of 71 in Plettenberg Bay
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nothando Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nothando Backpackers Lodge

Address: 5 Wilder Street, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $11 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nothando Backpackers Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Nothando Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing