We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I read the great reviews in the South African backpacker Coast to Coast and Rough Guide and decided to try it out - it exceeded my expectations! One of the cleanest, nicest hostels I can remember, complete with soaps and even hand creams. Nothando does a fantastic job of pleasing the customer and I hope to return someday.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank txvago1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando. It makes us so happy when our guests leave happy travellers. Hope you will visit us again in time to come.
The Nothando Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for Nothando Backpackers Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 204 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2012

In a history of nice back packers from Cape town to Johannesburg, nothando back packers was the best I stayed in. The prices were so reasonable, yet it was 5 star. The dorms were so nice and clean, the staff were so friendly, they provided so much information about all the activities to do in the area and are more than willing to help you organize your activity or trip for the day. Their bar area of so relaxed and had such a good friendly atmosphere and the fact that they had a movie room with their own DVDs for a lovely side bonus for me!

All in all, a fantastic back packers, and I wold recommend them to any one going to plett!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Nothando. We love Nothando, and it makes us very happy to know our guests enjoyed themselves at our Lodge. Please come and visit us again.
The Nothando team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Having spent six weeks driving all the way from cape town up to swaziland and staying in many backpackers hostel's along the way, i can say that this was the best hands down. It is clean and decent oasis along the way. The owners were very friendly and warm people.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
Thank Punack10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your great review of Nothando. We would love you to visit us again.
The Nothando Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

have visited nothandos on several occasions over the last ten years and it continues to be the best place to stay in plettenberg bay.beds always comfortable, lovely linen, very 'female friendly' bathrooms/en suites, nice breakfast spread and nice little bar and silly canine companions.what more do you need?for the person who wrote the previous uncomplmentary review, you are a total misery!!
Dominic

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robbycockles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Hallo Dominic
Thank you for your wonderful review of Nothando. We always try to give our guests only the best. Please come and visit us again.
The Nothando team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

This hostel disappointed us somewhat. We stayed there during a stormy night and our room was cold. I stayed there with my friend in a twin room, and when we asked for extra blankets we were given one TO SHARE as we were told this was all they had. The heating wouldn't work in the room, and the bedside lights weren't working either, which the owner tried to fix. The room was located close to the kitchen/breakfast room, so after a cold night of poor sleep,
we were woken very early the next morning by the staff preparing breakfast. Not only this but when I took a shower the next morning after 3 minutes in the shower the water went freezing. I came out with shampoo still in my hair to be told that it would take a while to heat up or else I could cross the yard to try a different shower. I waited ten minutes, freezing cold with wet hair, to eventually have a lukewarm shower. Not only this but the evening we stayed we walked into the town to get food. We were travelling via the Baz bus and therefore didn't have a car. The walk to and from the hostel was incredibly dark with no street lights on the street of the hostel, and we didn't feel safe at all on our walk. Overall incredibly disappointing.

Room Tip: Choose a good room in a different hostel.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flynnstone1131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

We are very sorry about your disappointing experience of Nothando. Most of the things you mentioned in your review are alien to Nothando.
All I can say is: please come and visit us again and you will hopefully be happier the second time round.
The Nothando Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Overall a great place too stay. Clean & comfortable and lots of communal space - shame a lot of it was not accessible after 10.30pm. Great to have safe parking. Enjoyed the cocktails!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cimocounselling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando. We really appreciate it. Please come and visit us again.
The Nothando Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

We stayed for two nights in an ensuite room and it was like staying in a hotel! definitely better quality than any other backpackers we've ever stayed in. The facilities were excellent and the staff were lovely and friendly. There is an excellent bar on site which is very cheap and well stocked. The barman is very friendly and extremely helpful. There are lots of excellent deals available via the backpackers to local attractions as well. The only negative would be...we paid extra to have breakfast and although it was nice, it was a bit pricey for what it is. excellent place nonetheless which makes you feel like you are staying in someones home!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daweses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for your fantastic review of Nothando. We always try our best to give our travellers our utmost best. We hope you will come and stay again.
The Nothando Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
553 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
743 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
African Array Lodge
African Array Lodge
#11 of 70 in Plettenberg Bay
247 reviews
6.4 mi away
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
#4 of 70 in Plettenberg Bay
357 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bayside Lodge
Bayside Lodge
#3 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nothando Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nothando Backpackers Lodge

Address: 5 Wilder Street, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $13 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nothando Backpackers Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Nothando Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing