We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High standard hostel accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“High standard hostel accommodation”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Overall a great place too stay. Clean & comfortable and lots of communal space - shame a lot of it was not accessible after 10.30pm. Great to have safe parking. Enjoyed the cocktails!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cimocounselling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando. We really appreciate it. Please come and visit us again.
The Nothando Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    39
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
86
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

We stayed for two nights in an ensuite room and it was like staying in a hotel! definitely better quality than any other backpackers we've ever stayed in. The facilities were excellent and the staff were lovely and friendly. There is an excellent bar on site which is very cheap and well stocked. The barman is very friendly and extremely helpful. There are lots of excellent deals available via the backpackers to local attractions as well. The only negative would be...we paid extra to have breakfast and although it was nice, it was a bit pricey for what it is. excellent place nonetheless which makes you feel like you are staying in someones home!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daweses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review of Nothando. We always try our best to give our travellers our utmost best. We hope you will come and stay again.
The Nothando Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We had a 2 night stay in the ensuite room. The room quality for a hostel was excellent (a lot nicer than some hotels we stayed in) and excellent value for money. The staff were really friendly with good facilities/bar.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike_williams_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

One of the best equipped and run backpackers I have stayed at... Crisp, clean sheets and well maintained buildings. The kitchen was setup perfectly and the bar was good. The only negative about our stay was there weren't many staying at the time but the night before was busy!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickmoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B 3210 Linden
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2011

A very lovely place to stay. Warm welcome when I arrived. Good service all over the day starting with a extended and healthy breakfast. Possibility to order for a nice meal during the evening or to prepare your own food in a well equiped kitchen.The possibility to share the kitchen, the bar and the garden with other people from all over the world gives the opportunity to have multilateral contacts.. Nothando offers a good service in reservation of trips and other events. My third stay here was as good as my first one.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deknop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2011

Great location within walking distance of good restaurants. They serve hearty breakfasts; good value for money. Their notebook of fun activities to do while in Plett was very helpful, and they gave good advice on scenic routes to take to CapeTown. The owner was very warm and personable -- she reminded me of my aunt.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debi044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HellsBellsCT, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, February 22, 2011
Dear debi044,

Thank you so much for your kind words. Here at Nothando, the Team and I are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you do come to visit us again very soon!
Tom, Nothando's Bartender, has a beaming smile on his face and wishes to thank you for his special mention.
Enjoy the rest of your travels!
Lots of love,
The Nothando Team x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We stayed in Nothando in September 2010. Great hostel, wonderful staff and the rooms are clean and safe. Centrally located in Plettenberg Bay. Can recommend this hostel to anyone at anytime..

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann56003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.5 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#11 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
African Array Lodge
African Array Lodge
#11 of 68 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo for Backpackers
Albergo for Backpackers
#14 of 68 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments
Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments
#21 of 68 in Plettenberg Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nothando Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nothando Backpackers Lodge

Property: Nothando Backpackers Lodge
Address: 5 Wilder Street, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Nothando Backpackers Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Nothando Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing