We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace or Party”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bella Manga Country House
Ranked #30 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
1 review
“Peace or Party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2009

We celebrated my husband's birthday at Bella Managa during December 08. The celebration was made really special by Ray and Fiona’s hospitality. It also helped that they had fantastic food, excellent bar service and a superb setting. If it’s a party atmosphere you’re looking for, simply bring the crowd. .. If is peace, tranquility you’re after, then simply walk 150 m to the forest and drown yourself in ‘mother nature’.

The best recommendation I can give is to assure you, our family will be back, and soon too.

  • Liked — The setting, atmosphere
  • Disliked — x
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank michCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    45
    10
    5
    12
See reviews for
78
91
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2008

I stayed at Bella Manga for a friends wedding. After 2 nights i did not want to leave. It is stunningly peacful and yet only a few km from Plettenberg Bay and Knsyna so if you fancy a night out or returning to civilisation they are not far away.
All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and i could not fault the cleanliness and standards of the rooms.

  • Liked — How quiet it is
  • Disliked — The Parrot who gave an early morning wake up call on our first day!! But he is gorgeous!!
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachett8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2008

we stayed at Bella Manga for 3 nights for my brother's wedding. we only wish that we had stayed for longer, we will def be coming back. the rondavel we stayed in was beautiful. ray and fiona, the owners, were very welcoming. the wedding was great and even more so in such a beatiful setting.

  • Liked — loved everything
  • Disliked — cant fault anything
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2008

We initially chose this Guest House as it had quad bikes on the estate and it was a treat for our 11 year old. We weren't disappointed. Riding around the farm on the quads in beautiful sunny weather was a wonderful experience. The accommodation was very clean, well appointed and the quirkiness of the rondavel helped make the whole experience special. The property is set in the Uplands just 10 minutes from Plettenberg in a beautiful country setting. Great hosts and great breakfasts.

  • Liked — Felt very welcome
  • Disliked — Would prefer shower to bath, otherwise nothing to dislike
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolineadams58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2008

My wife Jo and I spent a couople of days unwinding in Capetown before taking the drive down to Plettenburg Bay.

We had booked into Bella Manga for a couple of nights but stayed for 10 days before returning last week.

We were both in need of a proper break and we were more than dleighted with the accomodation and great breakfasts we enjoyed at Bella Manga.

We took Ray and Fiona's advice and visited various restaurants and game reserves, elephant sanctuary and local brewery all of which added to our enjoyment.

When I had a tooth problem, Fiona booked me into her dentist and my root canal was done painlessly and quickly and probabaly saved a fortune in the process.

We were very well looked after enjoying a braii with local customers and good bar facilities.

The pool and hot tub jacuzzi is absolutley fantastic and I did not see a better pool in all of my stay in SA.

The whole place is spotless and I will definately be booking again.

I kmnow we will keep in touch and look forward to our return.

many thanks for a great stay.

Regards John and Jo.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and friendliness
  • Disliked — No bad opinions formed
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 3142jb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2008

We drove from Cape Town to Plettenberg Bay and stayed at various hotels and B&B's along the way. Some were okay and some were disappointing, then we arrived at Bella Manga in Plettenberg Bay - everything was absolutely fantastic and the owners were great and made our stay with them the best ever. It was also a great base from which to explore, as there were so many brilliant activities nearby.

  • Liked — beautiful surroundings and clean
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mudman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worthing
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2007

We recently stayed for a few days in the Bellamanga Country House in one of their rondavels and had a really wonderful time. It's a beautiful place in the country but only about 20 minutes drive from Plettenberg Bay where there are lots of super bars, restaurants and beaches. They served up proper English breakfasts sitting outside in the sunshine and all we could hear was birdsong. We loved the tree outside the house, full of weaver bird nests! The Country House is set in about 50 hectares of land and you can take off on the quad bikes to have a look around the estate. Mine hosts (Fiona and Ray) have lots of recommendations of attractions locally and are more than willing to book these for you. We went whale watching, visited Birds of Eden, Monkey World and the new wild cat sanctuary and there is still lots more to do.........
A fantastic place to stay!

  • Liked — Spotlessly clean and spacious
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank crockhurst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
9.1 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
7.8 mi away
Tarn Country House
Tarn Country House
#1 of 9 in The Crags
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
8.2 mi away
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
#22 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
113 Robberg
113 Robberg
#19 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
8.3 mi away
Lala Panzi B&B
Lala Panzi B&B
#32 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
8.2 mi away
Edenbrook Country House
Edenbrook Country House
#2 of 3 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Manga Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Manga Country House

Property: Bella Manga Country House
Address: R340 | Uplands, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Manga Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at this safe and peaceful piece of heaven in the Garden Route. Just 8 minutes drive from a Jeep or horse-back safari at Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve or a mere 15 minutes drive to Plett's sandy beaches, restaurants and tourist attractions. Our accomodation holds something for every pocket with our thatched en-suite African rondavels, garden rooms or suites and three self-catering forest lodges in their landscaped gardens with large pool are the ideal getaway for family or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Bella Manga Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing