We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella Manga Country House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bella Manga Country House
Ranked #31 of 84 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baiern
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Friendly Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We had a nice African round house, loads of good tips on things to do and enjoyed the tranquility of the place.
Owners were very friendly, good place to relax.
Pool and garden were also nice to spend a late afternoon before dinner.
We recommend the place.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kolani_Houdini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    44
    10
    5
    12
See reviews for
77
90
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We all have those friends who make the best hosts: they welcome you into their inviting homes, give you tips on how to experience the best their town has to offer, and know
how to prepare their guests a delicious meal with gusto. This is the Bella Manga experience-magnified of course, by the beautiful countryhouse and surroundings Ray and Fiona provide for their guests.
We are only sorry we couldn't stay longer! Travelling along the route for 3 days, this was a delicious slice of heaven. Speaking of delicious, Fiona prepares the best English breakfast!
The beauty of Bella Manga lies in the details. The little villas are charming and the rooms are so welcoming. The power showers are amazing, especially if you've been hopping and stopping along the Garden Route.

Whether you are travelling along like we were or are seeking an oasis in the country, we highly recommend Bella Manga.

We will be back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We discovered this little piece of Paradise last year and made sure it featured top of our list again this year. Ray and Fiona are great hosts at Bella Manga with Rooms, Pool and gardens beautifully appointed and maintained. Our 4 days there were quiet and idyllic.... Exactly what we needed!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed in a forest lodge with beautiful forest surroundings. The lodge is adequately but not luxuriously furnished and a little overpriced. Some of the DIY could have been carried out better by Mr Bean (how the bathroom towel rail stayed attached to the door is a mystery)!!

The gardens and pool are well tended with an evening visit from horses and cattle which our children enjoyed.

The location is a little outside of Plettenberg but reaching the accomodation was not a problem in a normal rental care and took just 20 minutes to reach beaches or the town.

We took all valuables with us after having read previous comments about the safety and having no safe in the accomodation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

beautiful place to stay, nice things to do, nice hosts, but very businesslike (bpo breakfast). I recommend to stay in the rondavel; we recommend a game drive in the plettenberg game reserve next corner. We stayed with our little daughter.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joerg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is our fourth visit to Bellamanga, and it improves every time, Marie, my wife and I have managed to extend our visit to two months this time. It is wonderful to see Ray and Fiona again,
who are outstanding hosts, along with their beautiful herd of cattle.

I was surprised to read the previous review, where they lost some cash which can happen anywhere in the world, particularly S.A. we haven't lost a single rand over the last five years, as we
keep our valuables in the safe provided, and our cases are locked with a combination lock, I defy anyone to break the code in a two month period, let alone a day.

Getting back to Bellamanga, where else can you safely walk through 200 acres of wonderful private parkland full of beautiful birds, and other wildlife, swim in the lovely large pool, which happens to be 28 degrees today, and the home made food is amazing, and very professionally presented.

Room Tip: they are all different, and to a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed 4 nights and our impression was very good. Ray and Fiona were very helpful from the beginning and area + cottages were nice. Great basis, even if somewhat distant place, to visit the attractions in Plett area. Decent breakfast. Close to the fantastic game reserve to see animals. The price/quality is good.

In fact were were convinced to give 4 stars to the place until we were robbed money from our room during the last day. Yes, we had probably wrong sense of security as "we are in 3rd world" as stated by the hosts and made a beginner mistake leaving significant amount of cash in our cottage hidden in locked suitcase. It is not the money lost (4-5k Rand) but the fact that all the blame was on us that made us disappointed - we ended up arguing with them if were told about the safety box or not. No apology, just denial and blame on us in the exchanges we had afterwards.

So, I agree it was our stupid mistake to leave cash in room even if hidden. On the other hand this means that your belongings are potentially browsed while you are away, so dont do the same mistake as we did. Use the safety box (I still dont know where it is). Seems we had extremely bad luck (or other guests have been smarter than us) as it has been 2 years from similar previous incident.

Very difficult to give proper rating but if you are robbed I guess 1-2 stars is the maximum.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TitoKiljander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellamanga, Owner at Bella Manga Country House, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
We too have mixed feelings here, as when our guests arrive they come in to register and there Ray gives them a map of Plett and the surrounding area pointing out restaurants, attractions, location of beaches along with information about their room and our in-house policies one of which is where the safe is located in their room. This he does WITHOUT FAIL.

When we spoke to Kimmo we asked him why did he not use the safe - he told Ray that he did not know that there was a safe in the room - now take into consideration that with children in the room as well, who like to explore - surely in 4 days they would have noticed the safe and that there were two keys on his room fob!! He then went on to tell Fiona that he put half of the money in his suitcase with a combination lock on it and the other half in the safe - which was is to be - this we find confusing and conflicting!!! It would take our staff a lifetime to find the combination of that lock.

We do take accusations like this very seriously, as Kimmo pointed out it happened to us two years ago but the two staff involved were dismissed and arrested and the management of Bellamanga refunded the stolen money. We have since then taken steps to ensure that our guests valuables are protected by installing a safe in every room and point this out clearly to them on arrival as it is a third World country and not to put temptation in the way of our staff!

We did involve the local Police who investigated the incident and questioned the two girls who dealt with the room - they agreed that it would be impossible to tackle a combination lock during the time that the guests left their room for breakfast.

He went on to ask for compensation on what was then R3000 - it later became R4-5000.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
8.2 mi away
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
#24 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
7.8 mi away
Tarn Country House
Tarn Country House
#1 of 9 in The Crags
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
9.8 mi away
Sea Breeze
Sea Breeze
#15 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Bliss on Beacon Isle
Bliss on Beacon Isle
#29 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
7.3 mi away
Mandalay Guest House
Mandalay Guest House
#20 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
8.5 mi away
Acadia Bed and Breakfast
Acadia Bed and Breakfast
#27 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Manga Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Manga Country House

Property: Bella Manga Country House
Address: | Uplands, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Manga Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at this safe and peaceful piece of heaven in the Garden Route. Just 8 minutes drive from a Jeep or horse-back safari at Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve or a mere 15 minutes drive to Plett's sandy beaches, restaurants and tourist attractions. Our accomodation holds something for every pocket with our thatched en-suite African rondavels, garden rooms or suites and Colonial Rooms in the Manorhouse Three self-catering forest lodges in their landscaped gardens with large pool are the ideal getaway for family or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Bella Manga Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing