We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A place of peace and quiet!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Manga Country House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bella Manga Country House
Ranked #28 of 83 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Staverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A place of peace and quiet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had a one bedroom self catering unit which was light and airey. Beautiful location - so calm and peaceful. Very good pool - big enough for a proper swim. Down a dirt track and probably 20 mins from Plettenburg Bay so if you wanted to eat out at night you did have to drive. We stayed for 2 nights but could have stayed longer - it was so relaxing. Ray & Fiona were welcoming hosts.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireLass21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    38
    7
    5
    8
See reviews for
65
81
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Excellent place to stay, if a little quiet, no make that very quiet ! The rooms and welcome were excellent, although after a long drive to be told we had to go back to Plettenberg to eat was not what we expected. The advice given on where to eat was excellent and help in booking the sea safari great.

Yes it is down a dirt track but when you get there well worth it. Only one night and a quick departure in the morning, we could have stayed longer with out any problem.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeDabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellamanga, Owner at Bella Manga Country House, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thankyou for your kind words. We look our job here and with people like you it makes it all worth while. See you next time you come to Plett. Ray and Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Myself & partner booked to stay at Bella Manga for 3 nights early Feb before travelling on to Gansbaii & finishing off in Cape Town. We used a GPS to find the accomodation which although is slightly off route, was very easy to find!! All i can say was we wish we would have stayed longer.
We were met with a warm & friendly greeting from Ray & Fiona and their extremely loveable three dogs. We were then shown to our beautiful Rondevault which was spacious, cosy & the decor very African! The salt water pool, jucuzzi & surrounding poolside area was immaculate. The surroundings are just amazing, so tranquil & relaxing and so much wildlife!
During our stay we visited the Plett Game Reserve booked for us courtesy of Fiona and did a horseback safari which was fab and only a few mins drive! The Elephant Sanctuary, Tenikwa & sea kayaking down at the bay were also fabulous.
Service & accomodation of this place was just amazing, would definately return to on a trip back to SA!! Thank you Ray & Fiona! X
Stacey & Adam (UK)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Staceywroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellamanga, Owner at Bella Manga Country House, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thanks for your kind review guys - the dogs are still looking for you outside your rondavel every morning!!!! See you next time you visit our wonderful part of the World. Ray and Fiona. x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

The welcome we were given by Ray & Fiona and the playful dogs was really nice and our room was really clean and spacious. The pool area was magnificent, although I do recommend people get directions in advance - particularly as our rented GPS was no help.

Our main gripe was the distance of the accommodation from Plettenberg Bay. Also make sure you don't get a room near the aviary as it can be noisy at 6am.

Overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Ray and Fiona made us so welcome on our two night stay which we dearly wished we had extended to a month! Our room was exceptional and the decor and facilities first class.
Fiona catered for us one night and served a delicious 3 course meal in their lovely home AND with a great wine selection.
If you are looking for peace and tranquility in exceptional surroundings then this is you place..... The birds, gardens and wildlife are also a treat. What a find!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesund, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed 4 nights in a rondavel at Bella Manga Country house and loved every minute of it! Such a beautiful and peaceful place away from the hectic tourism in Plettenberg Bay. The owners Ray and Fiona made me feel so welcome, as well as their adorable dogs and other farm animals. Fiona cooked me a gorgeous 3-course meal one evening, and Ray helped us set up a braai in the garden one night. Amazing! This is the perfect place to just ´be´, relax, recharge your batteries, fall asleep early to the exotic sounds of the cicadas... I never wanted to leave! It´s still conveniently close to Plettenberg Bay Game Park, as well as only 15 minutes drive away from Plett and it's beaches. It´s definitely recommended to have your own car whilst staying here, as a taxi one way to Plettenberg will cost you between 100-150ZAR. I warmly recommend Bella Manga, and hope to return one day myself.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank ErikaTiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had a delightful two nights stay in Bella Manga; we loved the tranquility of the surroundings, the bird life and of course swimming in the lovely deep and clean pool. Our hosts were helpful and kind and made us a wonderful evening meal after our long drive the day of our arrival. GPS does not work but it is easy enough to find.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank j_wiede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
8.8 mi away
Cornerway House
Cornerway House
#12 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 187 reviews
7.4 mi away
Panoramic Blue B&B
Panoramic Blue B&B
#30 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
9.8 mi away
Sea Breeze
Sea Breeze
#10 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments
Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments
#17 of 63 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
7.7 mi away
Franmarel
Franmarel
#29 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
8.9 mi away
113 Robberg
113 Robberg
#18 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Manga Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Manga Country House

Property: Bella Manga Country House
Address: | Uplands, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Manga Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at this safe and peaceful piece of heaven in the Garden Route. Just 8 minutes drive from a Jeep or horse-back safari at Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve or a mere 15 minutes drive to Plett's sandy beaches, restaurants and tourist attractions. Our accomodation holds something for every pocket with our thatched en-suite African rondavels, garden rooms or suites and Colonial Rooms in the Manorhouse Three self-catering forest lodges in their landscaped gardens with large pool are the ideal getaway for family or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Bella Manga Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing