We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location to visit different Garden Route sightings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bella Manga Country Escape
Ranked #26 of 83 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Do you know these places you hate to leave on your holiday? This is definitely that place. We have stayed here for a 3 nights, which was too short. The owners (Fiona and Ray) are a lovely couple with their harts on the right place; they just love people and also animals in general. They are enthusiastic to help you out to plan your trips, enjoyable to sit down with but also very service oriented to make your stay as conformable as possible.

Next to the fact that the Bella Manga Country House itself is great to relax and enjoy, the surrounding and the area are just phenomenal. There are so many beautiful sightings within a 30-45 minutes’ driving distance, that you can easily enjoy yourselves here for many days. Based on what we have seen and visited, I can state that is most likely the most central locations when visiting the good sightings of the Garden route. Definitely something we have to visit again in the future, as we still have a lot to visit there. (As this is the best place we have visited when enjoying our holidays in South Africa)

Thank you so much, Fiona and Ray.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferdinand V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 229 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

My partner and i stayed at Bella Manga for three nights in November. It offers excellent value for money just a short drive from Plettenberg which is much pricer. It is also very well located for visiting are attractions such as the Plettenberg Game Reserve, Monkey Land and bird world. all these are worth a visit.

Fiona and Ray are lovely hosts and I have to say that during our three week tour of the Cape, Fiona's breakfasts were definitely the best. She also cooked us a lovely steak dinner on one night of our stay. the rooms were spacious and clean and cmfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polopetch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We only stayed 1 night at Bella Manga, unfortunately because we had no time to take profit of all the posibilities at this Lodge. The braai, the beautiful nature, the swimmingpool, etc.
Our cabin was big, very clean and was selfcatering.
This is ideal for families staying at least 1 week and exploring all the things to do around Plettenberg Bay.

Room Tip: If you ordered a self catering cabin buy your provisions before going to Bella Manga because it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonjag26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed in the forest lodge for 4 nights, braaid every night and enjoyed the good weather at the pool. There is a lot to do, for example the quad trails, but it's also very quiet and private.

We enjoyed our stay and can definitely recommend it. Only the pool area in the forest lodge part could use a renovation sometime.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHRACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The drive to this place was allready a travel worth. Scenic views. When we arrived we have been warm welcomed by the host. It is a magical place full of relaxing options. It is quiet and peaceful. Ray and Fiona are woderfl hosts with a family like athmosphere. We enjoyed nature and sun. Thanks! We can recommend this place to everyone!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just a stones throw away from the fairly pricey accommodation of Plettenburg Bay this fantastic B&B is a great alternative! We stayed in one of the self catering lodges which are set within stunning gardens. It was very comfy and comes kitted out with everything you could possibly need. The hosts, Fiona and Ray, were extremely welcoming, cook up a wonderful breakfast and have clearly put a lot of hard work into the place. We stayed 2 nights but could have easily extended this to make the most of the gardens, swimming pools and surrounding area. Somewhere we all hope to return to one day......

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank Clarkey987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

After having stayed at Bella Manga in 2011 already, we came back again this year in September to what we call paradise. As last year Ray and Fiona were again the nicest of hosts doing everything possible to making our stay a memorable one. Our room was cosy, quiet and very comfortable. Breakfast and Fiona's mouthwatering dinners were just delicious. We also enjoyed ourselves doing a quad tour with Ray on the Bella Manga property, feeding the horses or just having a lazy time at the olympic size pool. Bella Manga is a true "soul feeder" and rechargeing your empty batteries in no time! The only hard part was leaving! Ray, Fiona - thanks again for your hospitality! It was again such a pleasure being your guests! You are truly wonderful people! We can't wait to be back in 2013! Lots of love from Germany, Carmen & Franz
P.S.: Please give your little zoo - especially Coco & Chanel a big hug from us!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellamanga, Owner at Bella Manga Country Escape, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Good morning Germany,

thankyou for the stunning review - as always it is only a pleasure - look forward to seeing you both in 2013.
lol Ray and Fiona. x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.6 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
84 reviews
5.6 mi away
Tarn Country House
Tarn Country House
#1 of 10 in The Crags
126 reviews
3.9 mi away
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
#23 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Bayside Lodge
Bayside Lodge
#4 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
293 reviews
2.7 mi away
Thanda Vista
Thanda Vista
#19 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
186 reviews
6.9 mi away
T'Niqua Stable Inn
T'Niqua Stable Inn
#3 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Manga Country Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Manga Country Escape

Address: R340 | Uplands, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $71 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Manga Country Escape 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at this safe and peaceful piece of heaven in the Garden Route. Just 8 minutes drive from a Jeep or horse-back safari at Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve or a mere 15 minutes drive to Plett's sandy beaches, restaurants and tourist attractions. Our accomodation holds something for every pocket with our thatched en-suite rondavels, garden rooms or suites and three self-catering forest lodges in their landscaped gardens with large pool are the ideal getaway for family or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Bella Manga Country Escape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing