We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bella Manga Country House
Ranked #30 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Knysna
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great hospitality”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at Bella Manga for one night and Ray and Fiona were very welcoming, helpful and warm.

The accommodation was great, really hot water and just right for those that want to be out of the city in a quite property.

The owners take care of thier guests and are warm and welcoming, our kids loved the African round houses, which were comfortable and traditional.

The breakfast was really great and Fiona went the extra mile for us...

We enjoyed the stay and if we can will return.

Thanks Ray and Fiona!

Rick and family.

Room Tip: You must like traditional South African dwellings, if you like hotels, choose a hotel, if you up for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinjaNurtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    45
    10
    5
    12
See reviews for
78
92
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apeldoorn, Gelderland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2012

If you are searching for a quiet place in a natural environment with helpful owners, this is the place to be. The way to Plettenberg bay is at the moment we arrived hard to drive due to maintenance but normally it is a good road to drive.

We had a stay of one night in one of the forest cabins. The cabin is basic but everything for a good stay is there. We had a good meal at the farmhouse and the beds are good to sleep well.
There is a fireplace outside,

We had a cold but good stay at this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I came across this little hidden jewel while looking for vacation accommodation and my expectations were more than met. What caught my eye was the chance to stay in a revamped silo and be out in the lush country side. Waking up to the sound of birds chirping, crisp fresh air, beautiful surroundings with plenty grass and tress, and a scrumptious breakfast was exactly what I needed. Sit outside in the evening and watch some stunning sunsets. My hosts Ray and Fiona soon made me feel part of the family. Be sure to ask Fiona to show you her beautiful budgies in the aviary and join Ray for a drink and watch a soccer game in the pub. I will definitely be visiting this establishment in the future. If you need to get away from the city be sure to spend a few days here. To Ray and Fiona: Thank you for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merril911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Turned up with no one there to let us in! Had to wait on the side of the road for an hour, after a very long drive. Owners showed up, wasted, making up some excuse about having to pick some friends up from the airport which turned out to be completely untrue (said friends had been there two weeks already). Worst of all, became quite lecherous, to the point we were made to feel uncomfortable there and did our best to avoid the place.
Place too far from town, and up a dirt track, no good for the car.
Breakfasts below average.
Rooms cold and smelt damp, no fresh milk.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank becky2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellamanga, Owner at Bella Manga Country House, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
What an utterly disgusting appraisal of a genuinely well run business. I was hoping that as these people were from my home county in the UK they would be friendly, but alas that was not to be. They were sour faced because they were kept waiting 10 mins outside our gate and not on the road as they quoted, we had been to George Airport and dropped off a fellow Brit at Plettenberg Bay and certainly not "wasted". Their breakfasts were eaten completely with no comments about below average and the room that they stayed in is one of our most popular rooms being well-priced. There is a jute carpet in there - perhaps that is the smell that they described - which is typically African and the room is certainly not dark and smelly. Regarding the dirt road leading to our farm - as dirt roads go in this country we consider it to be of a good standard. Perhaps these miserable people had better stick to Europe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We said we would retun, and we did.
Bella Manga was even more delightful than we remembered. We stayed 3 nights in one of the newly converted self catering garden suites. We were more than comfortable. The rooms are very tastefully decorated and have everything you could need. Ray & Fiona were fabulous hosts as always.
Some reviewers keep on about the distance out of Plettenburg Bay. Why? The website clearly states that it is 15 minutes drive from Plettenberg Bay.! For us, coming away from the main town just enhances the peace and tranquility you find in the beautiful surroundings at Bella Manga.
All we can say is if you like what you see on the website - this time the camera does not lie - you will not be disappointed!
To Ray & Fiona - Keep up the good work !!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meerkat2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed as a group of 6 (3 couples) at Bella Manga whilst travelling the Garden Route.
It was so lovely and the owners couldn't have been more helpful. They recommended a place to eat and when we went to go out that night they had kindly called ahead and reserved a table for us, which was very much needed as the restaurant was packed!
The next morning the breakfast was really nice and again they were more then happy to recommend somewhere for us to horse ride, even calling up for us.
The accomodation was very nice, we stayed in the rondavels and they were really cute. Apparantly there were quite a few other people staying on site but we never saw anyone and it felt so quiet and private.
There are a couple of dogs and cats living on site that are very friendly and we all enjoyed playing with them.
I would thoroughly recommend stopping here for anyone and wish we could have spent another night or 2 there!

Room Tip: The rondavels are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemmalh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2012

I can not believe anyone could be negative about Bella Manga, Fiona and Ray were great hosts, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful without being intrusive. The accommodation is first class, set in beautiful surroundings,and so very peaceful. I can see that it may be a little out of town for some but it is only15-20 minutes drive, I live in Bath and it takes me at least as long to get into the city centre, and I have yet to see monkeys or buck on route as I did whilst driving into Plett from Bella Manga.
I am quite well travelled and have seen most of the world having visited SA seven times, (it is my favourite holiday destination), travelling up the garden route three times. The 3 day stay at Bella Manga ranks alhead of any of the other places in which I have stayed which includes some 5 star accommodation such as the Pezula golf estate in Knysna, and it was certainly the best value.
Bella Manga is ideally placed for visits to what I can consider to be the best part of the garden route Wilderness - Jeffreys Bay inclusive.
I would go back tomorrow!
Colin A, Bath England.

Room Tip: Ray showed us all the different types of rooms, all were of excellent quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
9.1 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
7.8 mi away
Tarn Country House
Tarn Country House
#1 of 9 in The Crags
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
8.2 mi away
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
#23 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
113 Robberg
113 Robberg
#19 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
8.3 mi away
Lala Panzi B&B
Lala Panzi B&B
#33 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
8.2 mi away
Edenbrook Country House
Edenbrook Country House
#2 of 3 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Manga Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Manga Country House

Property: Bella Manga Country House
Address: R340 | Uplands, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Manga Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at this safe and peaceful piece of heaven in the Garden Route. Just 8 minutes drive from a Jeep or horse-back safari at Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve or a mere 15 minutes drive to Plett's sandy beaches, restaurants and tourist attractions. Our accomodation holds something for every pocket with our thatched en-suite rondavels, garden rooms or suites and three self-catering forest lodges in their landscaped gardens with large pool are the ideal getaway for family or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bella Manga Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing