We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bella Manga Country Escape
Ranked #24 of 84 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Bellamanga was THE surprise on our trip to South Africa this year! A few minutes after we had arrived, we instantly felt relaxed, happy and at home! Everything was just perfect and fit together so nicely! Was it the comfortable accomodation in one of the round huts, dozing lazily at the large pool, going for walks on the farm admiring the beautiful and quiet surrounding with beautiful views, enjoying Fiona's cuinary skills (superb breakfasts and mouthwatring dinners)? It must have been the combination of everything - a nice accomodation, great food, a beautiful setting and absolutely fantastic hosts who made our stay at Bellamanga so delightful! We had planned to stay just for one night but extended our stay to a second night! We really did not want to leave at all! We definitely return in 2012! Ray and Fiona - thanks so much for being such wonderful hosts who have created a heavenly place on earth next to Plettenberg Bay!
Warm wishes from Germany from Carmen and Franz

Room Tip: The round huts are comfortable, quiet and very unique! We loved staying there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 239 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2011

we stayed in one of the lodges and it was fantastic. Beautifull setting, very good accommodation and friendly hosts. The spot is of one in a million. In the middle of nowhre but within 20 minutes from the coast and all kinds of restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marco K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

we were a group of 8. 1 family + some friends
! we stayed in these characteristic rondavels and we loved them
everything was simply perfect and Fiona and Ray are marvellous ! thank you
food was fanstastic and our only regret is that we stayed there too short !
surely we will return there in future if we would have the occasion to go back to South Africa

Room Tip: a dream !!! everybody should go there ! we will go back for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FedeJP25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Location is very lovely (also for kids), it's green, great garden and decorated with good taste! Ray and Fiona make you feel at home and breakfast was very nice as well! Rooms are big with nice beds. I wish we could stayed longer so we could also enjoy Fiona's homecooking..
Certainly want to return at our next stay in SA.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cato S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I was lucky and won this weekend at a function and took a good friend along. What a beautiful place in the most awesome setting. Ray and Fiona are the most delightful hosts. They made me feel most welcome in their bar as I arrived before my friend. We were even spoilt with an upgrade in our accommodation! The cottage was big and cosy with extremely comfortable beds and linen, great shower. The delicious breakfast, cooked and served by Fiona in their large farm style kitchen, was an added treat!. Can't wait to get a group of friends together for a return stay....fun, fun and more fun!! Thank you both so much for going out of your way to make this so special.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Was advised to visit this location by a friend and found it to be perfect. After a stressful period in a major city it was "just what the doctor ordered." Slightly off the beaten track, but within easy reach of Plettenberg Bay, this is the place to go to unwind and soak in the bounty of what nature has to offer. The owners, Fiona and Ray were very accommodating and friendly. Accommodation was spotlessly clean, rustic and prices were outstanding value for money. Quad bike safari through the forest was exhilarating!
Highly reccommend a stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindyhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We have stayed at Bellamanga 3 times over the last few years and had just noticed the bad review on tripadvisor and were outraged that someone would put this, it sounds like a con-man trying to get out of paying a bill. We have travelled through South Africa and all up the garden route, staying at various bed & breakfasts/hotels along the way and can honestly say that Bellamanga was the most amazing, clean and stunning place we had stayed at. The owners treated us like family and Ray even went bungy jumping with my husband off the Bloukran bridge - we could not have hoped for nicer/friendly people to meet while on vacation. Like I say we have stayed there 3 times and would go back tomorrow if we could and will be going back as soon as we can. So if you are visiting South Africa staying at Bellamanga is an absolute must. Thank you for everything Ray & Fiona and the staff at Bellamanga you are all brilliant.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelheidi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellamanga, Owner at Bella Manga Country Escape, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2011

Thankyou so much for your kind and thoughtful review, it makes it all worth while when our guests enjoy staying with us and it will be a pleasure to see you again when you are next on the Garden Route in South Africa

Ray and Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.3 mi away
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
#23 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
173 reviews
1.1 mi away
113 on Robberg
113 on Robberg
#17 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
105 reviews
8.6 mi away
Tarn Country House
Tarn Country House
#1 of 10 in The Crags
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
T'Niqua Stable Inn
T'Niqua Stable Inn
#3 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
313 reviews
4 mi away
Bitou River Lodge
Bitou River Lodge
#10 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
232 reviews
1.4 mi away
A Whale of a View
A Whale of a View
#40 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Manga Country Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Manga Country Escape

Address: R340 | Uplands, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $64 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Manga Country Escape 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at this safe and peaceful piece of heaven in the Garden Route. Just a beautiful 15 minutes drive from the town of Plettenberg Bay with its sandy beaches, restaurants. A mere 1km from the Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve. Close to all the tourist attractions of the Plett environs. Our accommodation holds something for every taste and pocket with our thatched en-suite rondavels, garden rooms or suites and three self-catering forest lodges in their landscaped gardens with large pool are the ideal getaway for family or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Bella Manga Country Escape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing