We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant with fabulous rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Emily Moon River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Stayed three nights at Emily Moon and totally enjoyed our stay. The accommodation was spacious, stylish and with every comfort. Our Lodge was full of African art and artifacts a feature of the delightful public spaces and grounds. Staff were friendly helpful and very professional. Our car was washed every day and parked in it's own shaded bay with a spectacular view. Our room had an even better one looking over a wide area of the river and valley.

The restaurant was first class and very popular. We were generally uneffected by the diners as the Lodges and unheated pool were so well planned and private. Helpful advice about sight seeing etc was on hand each morning at breakfast from our very genial hosts.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corinne_harper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 449 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2011

Lovely setting, great restaurant with fantatstic fresh food, staff very knowledgable and helpful regarding things to do in and around Plett.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redbrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

Truly magical.

Emily Moon offers a great base to explore the beaches and bays around Plettenburg Bay as well as being very well positioned to explore the national parks of the Storms River. The hotel itself, though only a few minutes drive away from Plet’, is a different world away from over-development of the seaside resort.

The accommodation really is special. Individual huts with terrific views over the river. There are also kayaks available should you fancy a quick paddle on the river.

This added to a very good restaurant really makes Emily Moon a special place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squaremeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

We spent two nights. the room and bathroom was spacious and well equipped. Views over the Bitou river and wetlands were charming. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food in the resturant was very good for both breakfast and dinner - it is open to non residents and was popolular with outsiders. The Owners were full of good ideas for places to visit and took trouble to help with things to see and do - there is a lot in this area for all ages and inclinatioins - at the start of the day. The hotel is peacefully situated above the Bitou river just on the edge of town. They lend canoes for taking out on the river.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

We stayed at The Emily Moon for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon -- it was definitely one of the highlights of the garden route for us. The location, facilities and staff were all above expectations - and we really were able to relax and enjoy. The restaurant is fabulous (although the acoustics aren't so great) - and the wine list is pretty impressive.
Above all it was the helpfulness and manner of the staff that made the stay for us.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitecass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Myself, husband and 9 year old son travelled to South Africa for a two week holiday, staying in various places.

Emily Moon was one of five hotels that we stayed in and was by far the best. The accommodation is outstanding and, as we stayed in the family lodge, my son had his own "quarters", which was a bedroom and bathroom downstairs from the main bedroom. The views from the rooms are exceptional and it is a very peaceful place to stay.

The breakfast was very good and we eat twice in the restaurant on two occassions in the evenings, which was a excellent both times. The waiting staff were very attentive and friendly.

The owners are extremely helpful and give great advice on things to do in the area if required.

We were devasted to leave and would love to come back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Fantastic hotel, with beautiful bedrooms overlooking the wetlands. We don't normally eat in hotel dinning rooms but on both of our nights at Emily Moon we did and the dinner was first class.
The owners really care and give you advice on places to visit with maps and routes.

First class, definetly recomend

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katy_dias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
6.3 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
267 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
575 reviews
6.5 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
785 reviews
1.0 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
83 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
#2 of 9 in The Crags
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emily Moon River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emily Moon River Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 1936 | Rietvlei Road, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $151 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Emily Moon River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where luxury and peace are to be found in a sweeping river valley. Where the views encompass a wetland, winding river and distant mountains and where the call of the Fish Eagle will forever remind you of the vast skies of Africa. Embracing the southern bank of the Bitou River in Plettenberg Bay, Emily Moon River Lodge is a small, exclusive lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Emily Moon River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emily Moon River Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing