We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Emily Moon River Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Cornerway House(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
$73
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Plettenberg Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
$238
$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Robberg Beach Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
$67
$65
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tsala Treetop Lodge(Harkerville)
$542
$523
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamodi Lodge(The Crags)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
T'Niqua Stable Inn(Plettenberg Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Periwinkle Guest Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Milkwood Manor on Sea(Plettenberg Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (471)
Filter reviews
471 results
Traveler rating
366
72
19
9
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
366
72
19
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbitou riversimon's barpizza restaurantgarden routepork bellylog firewine listromantic getawaycomfortable bedrooms are lovelyfirst morningloved every minuteplaces to visitoutdoor showeramazing viewsbreakfast and dinnerlarge bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
419 - 424 of 471 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2009

Following extensive research into our choice of accommodation on our recent trip to SA we were disappointed with our 2 night stay at Emily Moon. It does have fantastic reviews. We had had rather a long hot tiring drive to get there and we were met with a rather frosty reception girl who didn't smile or welcome us in any way. It was straight down to basics of pushing a registration form across the desk. We were then shown our parking for the room we were in was accessed off from the main car parking area and was definitely not a pretty area, old storage buildings and the industrial part of the place etc. The view was an old shed with a big window showing an old mattress up against the wall and other disused equipment. Overall not a good start! First impressions count! The room was beautiful however with wonderful views, well designed as not overlooked.
The food in the restaurant was excellent but it is obviously the "in" place to dine with the locals. I felt this place is all about the restaurant which was very busy and staff could not chat, again it was down to the basics of communication:- Wine? Food? Dessert? Goodnight. Busy dining can give a place a good vibe when managed well but I felt the manager was just a little too stressed and rushed. We were sat at the same table for both nights and the tables with the best views seemed to be reserved for locals.
The final straw was trying to have a peaceful breakfast with a wonderful view and having the manager/owner calling and confirming all the bookings for the restaurant that night in a very loud voice which went on for some time. I did not think this was appropriate or fair and greatly misses the point. We left feeling we really should have felt priviledged to have been allowed to stay at Emily Moon.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LadyLhotse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for one night following an awful night at Milkwood Manor.
We turned up with desperate please and the wonderful staff at Emily Moon made a plan for us. Magically the lovely owners sorted out the best villa for us... and at a fraction of the cost, because we were distressed honeymooners. Our room was amazing, very spacious with underfloor heating in the bathroom ( you can look onto the river while you shower!) There was an open fire and lots of little luxuries. The food is great and the restaurant is really vibey with open fires and cool decor outside. This place is really fabulous, and we loved our stay, wish we had found it sooner and not had to endure a terrible night elsewhere!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marshalllaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

Emily Moon was recommended to us, and it exceeded our hopes and expectations.
Diane and Simon were the most charming hosts, full of local knowledge and advice which we were able to successfully utilise.
The "room" we had was in fact a "suite" with total privacy, the highlight of which would have been the fantastic outdoor shower offering wonderful views over the valley, if the weather had allowed us to use it!!
The restaurant was fully booked on both evenings we were there, & it was not difficult to see why as both food and staff were delightful.
If you should go canoeing in the river by the Lodge, make sure you go with someone who knows what they are doing!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

This hotel was wonderful. We arrived just as the drought ended and the hurricane hit, 30 hours of horizontal rain, felt as if we had never left Scotland. The villas were outstanding, clean, comfortable and if you are going to be holed up in a storm there is no where better.. The first night the children "camped" out in our room and we still had plenty of space.
The second morning it was sunny, sunny. sunny. Simon, the owner's father and manager, was on hand to give every guest individual attention and helped everyone plan their perfect day out. He told us to be at certain beach at 4.30pm to watch the whales playing in the surf. We were ther at the exact time and saw 7 whales., now that is great local knowledge.
The food, was outsatnding and the staff were friendly and very attentive. A nice thought is that the restuarant is very popular with the local community and every night it is fully booked with a waithing list. As a matter of course every guest is booked in for dinner when the initial booking is made.
Our travel agent said this was her favourite hotel to visit and as a family we could not fault it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yb349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

Wow what a location. Fabulous views, amazing accommodation - never before such a view from a bath!! Simon & Di were very welcoming with lots of great advice on making the most of Plett. A great location with so much to do - very much recommend the Tenikwe Cheetah Sanctuary. Emily Moon is a hidden gem - an amazing restaurant with great fresh local ingredients. A superb lodge. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LionaAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews