We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heavenly Honeymoon Hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Emily Moon River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Heavenly Honeymoon Hideaway”
Reviewed December 22, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for one night following an awful night at Milkwood Manor.
We turned up with desperate please and the wonderful staff at Emily Moon made a plan for us. Magically the lovely owners sorted out the best villa for us... and at a fraction of the cost, because we were distressed honeymooners. Our room was amazing, very spacious with underfloor heating in the bathroom ( you can look onto the river while you shower!) There was an open fire and lots of little luxuries. The food is great and the restaurant is really vibey with open fires and cool decor outside. This place is really fabulous, and we loved our stay, wish we had found it sooner and not had to endure a terrible night elsewhere!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marshalllaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    65
    17
    8
    6
See reviews for
73
279
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford UK
Level Contributor
232 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2009

Emily Moon was recommended to us, and it exceeded our hopes and expectations.
Diane and Simon were the most charming hosts, full of local knowledge and advice which we were able to successfully utilise.
The "room" we had was in fact a "suite" with total privacy, the highlight of which would have been the fantastic outdoor shower offering wonderful views over the valley, if the weather had allowed us to use it!!
The restaurant was fully booked on both evenings we were there, & it was not difficult to see why as both food and staff were delightful.
If you should go canoeing in the river by the Lodge, make sure you go with someone who knows what they are doing!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2009

This hotel was wonderful. We arrived just as the drought ended and the hurricane hit, 30 hours of horizontal rain, felt as if we had never left Scotland. The villas were outstanding, clean, comfortable and if you are going to be holed up in a storm there is no where better.. The first night the children "camped" out in our room and we still had plenty of space.
The second morning it was sunny, sunny. sunny. Simon, the owner's father and manager, was on hand to give every guest individual attention and helped everyone plan their perfect day out. He told us to be at certain beach at 4.30pm to watch the whales playing in the surf. We were ther at the exact time and saw 7 whales., now that is great local knowledge.
The food, was outsatnding and the staff were friendly and very attentive. A nice thought is that the restuarant is very popular with the local community and every night it is fully booked with a waithing list. As a matter of course every guest is booked in for dinner when the initial booking is made.
Our travel agent said this was her favourite hotel to visit and as a family we could not fault it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yb349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2009

Wow what a location. Fabulous views, amazing accommodation - never before such a view from a bath!! Simon & Di were very welcoming with lots of great advice on making the most of Plett. A great location with so much to do - very much recommend the Tenikwe Cheetah Sanctuary. Emily Moon is a hidden gem - an amazing restaurant with great fresh local ingredients. A superb lodge. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LionaAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2009

Emily Moon has fabulous ambiance...Room is large and very comfortable.
Pool area is intimate and charming. Simon & Diane are extremely helpful & friendly.
We had a lovely stay & would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taipei
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2009

The views were breath-taking - majestic hills, meandering river and lush greenery. Everyone was friendly and eager to help you enjoy your vacation - you feel as if you were staying in a friend's abode. The ambience was cosy and relaxing. The food could only be summed up in one word - SUMPTUOUS! The room was tastefully done up and must have the best view from the bathroom amongst all hotels! The balcony was a great spot to simply gaze at the picturesque views and just relax. Simply chill out by the pool and you will be thoroughly rejuvenated in this very comfy lodge. I shall return!

Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank patngiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

My husband and I had a magic weekend at Emily Moon. The view and birdlife are fantastic. The service, friendly staff and wonderful FOOD make it a home away from home. We would definately return soon.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnelieDirker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
6.5 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
515 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
533 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
676 reviews
6.6 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
134 reviews
5.0 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emily Moon River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emily Moon River Lodge

Property: Emily Moon River Lodge
Address: P.O. Box 1936 | Rietvlei Road, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Emily Moon River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where luxury and peace are to be found in a sweeping river valley. Where the views encompass a wetland, winding river and distant mountains and where the call of the Fish Eagle will forever remind you of the vast skies of Africa. Embracing the southern bank of the Bitou River in Plettenberg Bay, Emily Moon River Lodge is a small, exclusive lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Emily Moon River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emily Moon River Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing