We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful & peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Emily Moon River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The staff were always attentive, the rooms were beautifully appointed, the food was excellent and the setting was lovely. A great feature was being able to canoe along the peaceful winding river at the foot if the hotel listening to the birdsong and the rustle if the reeds in the breeze.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sidney K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 450 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

lovely view on magnificent called unspoiled. great service , and a really excellent meal, probably the best in Plettenberg . we will be back , our friends wanted absolutely to take us for a meal and it was difficult to get a booking so we had lunch, what a treat

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank nicolas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Dinner only. Great setting above serpentine estuarine river and rustic surrounds. Great service from manager through to waiter. Excellent food and highly recommended. Already booked for Dec14 to prevent diss appointment.

Room Tip: We had the seat on the outside veranda straight across from the fireplace and pool. Recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Emily Moon has the most idyllic setting and rooms that are beautifully appointed and decorated. However from the time we arrived until we departed we were made to feel very unwelcome! On arrival we were not informed about any aspects of the property, the guest facilities, the location if the new pool, breakfast hours etc. We had made a reservation for dinner at the restaurant and were initially told that we are at the bottom of the waiting list. The restaurant manager eventually allocated a table to our parry but was quite put out to give us one with a good view - the brochure in the roon stated that guests staying at Emily Moon would have priority.. The brochure also stated that our cars would be washed - this did not happen. The breakfast was fair but could be improved. The poor attitude and service did not reflect the high price we paid. Avoid Emily Moon at this busy time of the year when they clearly cannot cope...

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank FreedSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Very nice location, away from the crowds of Plettenberg proper. While not on the ocean, the views of the river are lovely at both sunrise and sunset. Our cottage was nicely appointed -- nothing too fancy, but perfectly comfortable, and with ample privacy and a gorgeous view. The staff was friendly and attentive, and the owners stopped by our breakfast each morning, providing great advice on things to do in the area, as well as interesting routes to take once we were on our way.

The restaurant is a great perk for guests, as it's a popular spot for diners staying elsewhere. The food was quite good, and while not cheap, was a good value. Breakfasts were also tasty, although we wished there were more fresh fruits available beyond the diced fruit salad.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We went to Emily moon for dinner - table booked for 8 but we went at 7 to watch the sunset as it is an amazing location. Dont be fooled by the slighty scary dirt track of the N2 as the place is beautiful when you arrive. We had 3 courses and 3 drinks for R800 so not cheap but the food was worth it. Service slightly slow but it was fully booked Saturday night.

Sushi was amazing and worth a try, we had steak and fish which were both good but the highlight was the roasted veg side order. Very good chocolate dessert

We would go back for the views and the food

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank amy181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

A very surprised receptionist had clearly not expected us. Our booking was done online. When she checked our name was obviously there. Very flustered she took us to our room which had a lovely welcome card with a different name written on it. She was very embarrassed and knocked on the door a while later with complimentary wine which was a nice thought. We grabbed our cameras and headed off to take some photos. The river is below the lodge and we clearly heard the staff swearing, laughing and mocking a christmas party that had just left. As the foul language persisted we decided to wander off and find some quiet. The supper and the waitress was phenomenal. We will without a shadow of a doubt return back to the restaurant. It was amazing. The views are gorgeous. We felt the room to be lacking and the small touches just not there. Touch up paint in different shades looked slap dash. The silicon on the bath was black and peeling, no wifi, no electronic safe. The restaurant had a large window with a huge crack running from top to bottom that seemed to be very unsafe and an eyesore. The website says the suites include morning newspaper, carwash,, canoes, bicycles and breakfast. We were not told of the canoes nor the bicycles and did not receive morning newspaper nor a carwash. Breakfast is until 10. We arrived back from a long morning run at 0945 to find a very irate staff waiting for us. We ordered and the staff proceeded to start setting tables around us chatting to each other. The breakfast was really lovely. All in all it felt like we were imposing and by no means felt welcomed and pampered. For R3000 a night there is a variety of choice and we will most definitely return for the restaurant but not to stay. Reading my review I want to make sure that this is by no means a moaning session but me, only stating what, and what not we received, paid for and did not get.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the new rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mischellejolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
581 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
272 reviews
6.5 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
791 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
#2 of 9 in The Crags
686 reviews
5 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emily Moon River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emily Moon River Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 1936 | Rietvlei Road, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $147 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Emily Moon River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where luxury and peace are to be found in a sweeping river valley. Where the views encompass a wetland, winding river and distant mountains and where the call of the Fish Eagle will forever remind you of the vast skies of Africa. Embracing the southern bank of the Bitou River in Plettenberg Bay, Emily Moon River Lodge is a small, exclusive lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Emily Moon River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emily Moon River Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing