We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unforgettable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Emily Moon River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“unforgettable”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

On our honeymoon we arrived at this beautifully situated lodge. Our first night, we had a bat as a visiter:) quite an experience but in some cultures, a bat is seen as good luck. We stayed four nights and every moment spent we fell more and more in love with this place. The views waking up every morning, laying in front of a roaring fire, gazing out at breath taking views. Excellent food, friendly staff. Deserve all the stars given:) will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    66
    17
    8
    6
See reviews for
76
281
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have wanted to stay here for years so when the opportunity arose we couldn't resist. A truly wonderful experience with great rooms where the fireplace was really appreciated on the cold winter evening, however we did expect electric blankets or a hot water bottle, neither of which were provided during the turn down. The rooms are generous and wonderfully appointed but at this level one does expect decent lighting which regretfully is missing. Clearly an amateur interior designer was used and while "pretty" was achieved user convenience was missed. All in all an above average experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Catbluefoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Service was very good. Staff were friendly and knowledgable of the area. Room was excellent laid out and well furnished - lovely decor. View from room and bed was spectacular - looking out over wide river valley. Meals were great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had the most amazing honeymoon last week. From the moment we arrived at Emily Moon the experience was unforgettable. We arrived on Monday 26th August from Cape Town by car. We were exhausted after the drive but it all dissapeared once we layed eyes on the beautiful scenery and surroundings. Every last detail about The Lodge is unforgettable. From lodge number 7 comfortability to cleanliness and the restaurant, friendly waiters and people always willing to help.

We will definitley be back. People that have not visited Emily Moon is surely missing out on a little bit of heaven:)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We visited Emily Moon on our way back to Cape Town from Port Elizabeth. We were thrilled with the accommodation, amenities, restaurant and service! I only wish we had stayed more than just three nights.

These guys are the epitome of great service and attention to detail. Staff were only too helpful to suggest activities in and around Plettenberg Bay, but there is plenty to do right there. I highly recommend taking one of the canoes and going for a leisurely paddle up the river.

Views from our accommodation were spectacular, as was food served at the restaurant. This is a great place for a romantic getaway. It's a seven hour drive from Cape Town, but I assure you we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clydesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
217 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I can't say enough about Emily Moon. From the beautiful rooms, the gorgeous scenery, the great food to the AWESOME staff. It couldn't be any better. The staff go out of their way to make sure you have the best stay possible. Simon was fantastic. He always made sure we were ok and had plans for the day and even helped us make plans by calling in reservations for us so that we didn't have to do it. I can't say it enough. GREAT PEOPLE! The sunset over the river is indescribable. Kayaking on the glassy water was so peaceful. I will definitely be returning to Plett just to stay at Emily Moon. Thanks for everything!

Room Tip: Watching the sunrise on the river from a kayak is breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Everything about our stay at Emily Moon was positive. The accommodation was comfortable, clean and luxurious, the views magnificent.
The staff were all very friendly & helpful. The service and interactions with any of the staff never felt forced, which was great. Everyone is 'down to earth' and seems genuinely eager to assist and make your stay more pleasurable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
6.5 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
5.0 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
6.7 mi away
Trogon House and Forest Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emily Moon River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emily Moon River Lodge

Property: Emily Moon River Lodge
Address: P.O. Box 1936 | Rietvlei Road, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Emily Moon River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where luxury and peace are to be found in a sweeping river valley. Where the views encompass a wetland, winding river and distant mountains and where the call of the Fish Eagle will forever remind you of the vast skies of Africa. Embracing the southern bank of the Bitou River in Plettenberg Bay, Emily Moon River Lodge is a small, exclusive lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Emily Moon River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emily Moon River Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing