We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Emily Moon River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Everything about our stay at Emily Moon was positive. The accommodation was comfortable, clean and luxurious, the views magnificent.
The staff were all very friendly & helpful. The service and interactions with any of the staff never felt forced, which was great. Everyone is 'down to earth' and seems genuinely eager to assist and make your stay more pleasurable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
There are newer reviews for Emily Moon River Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 445 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

We always enjoy going back to Emaily Moon as it has a comforting, homely feel and each room is stylishly decorated giving one that 'Out of Africa' feeling. The views are spectacular across the wet plains below and of the mountains in the distance. We always receive personalised attention from Simon and Di and Verner is always on-hand to offer his special service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

So when I booked this place it was on the recommendation of my boss - and so I did no research - so I had no idea until a few days before that it was not on the ocean. When I realized it was not on the ocean I was super disappointed and could not figure why it was so pricey - but it was too late to cancel. Wow, am I glad I did not cancel! This place was a total gem - our "room" was amazing! Two stories, two bedrooms, lovely lounge, fantastic bathroom. Really lovely. The highlight, though, was the restaurant. Great food - I will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anneel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a lovely Lunch at Emily Moon.The menu was very balanced a had good choices.The Tai Fishcakes and the tomato soup was very tasty ,well presented .The Sirlion Steak and the chicken curry was a very good and tast Main Course.The chocolate brownie and Pavlova desert was a very good choice

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Janfourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband and I had a lovely stay at Emily Moon. Luxury, comfortable accommodation, underfloor heating, with nice deck and fireplace. Staff efficient, friendly and helpful. Same for owners. Meals in restaurant very enjoyable. Lovely views from room, bathroom and restaurant

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank miemie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Thank you for the excellent accommodation and restuarant. The hospitality we received was undescribable. We will definitely be frequenting your establishment in the future again. We will also be promoting Emily Moon River Lodge amongst our Family and friends as a prefered destination when visiting Plettenberg Bay. Thank you once again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We booked our holiday through Beverly at Travel Exclusively African and they certainly picked a very nice top hotel for us to stay in and was excellent from start to finish.

The people who run this Hotel could not do enough to ensure your stay was brilliant and action packed if that is what you wanted.

The Manager Simon took time for all his guests to ensure top quality service and that all of his guests were totally looked after.

Each room has awesome views over the river and wetlands and the place is located in a very secure and private setting.

Would just love to return once again and Thank Mr Simon for all his guidance and hospitality.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to be first class and very private
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 475Default
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
3.0 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
555 reviews
6.5 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
548 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
374 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
746 reviews
5.0 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emily Moon River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emily Moon River Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 1936 | Rietvlei Road, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $141 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Emily Moon River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where luxury and peace are to be found in a sweeping river valley. Where the views encompass a wetland, winding river and distant mountains and where the call of the Fish Eagle will forever remind you of the vast skies of Africa. Embracing the southern bank of the Bitou River in Plettenberg Bay, Emily Moon River Lodge is a small, exclusive lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Emily Moon River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emily Moon River Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing