We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class hotel with an excellent restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Emily Moon River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stopped here for 2 nights on our tour from Port Elizabeth to Cape Town. It had been highly recommended to us by friends who had stayed previously, and the recommendation was not misplaced.
Our lodge style room looked out over a bend in the river and across to the hills on the opposite side of the valley. It was very spacious and met all our needs in terms of comfort.
The hotel restaurant was very busy and you can see why. The food was excellent with some more unusual choices which on a long trip like ours are very welcome. The wine list is extensive. Service too was first class and the staff attentive and friendly.
We were also given excellent advice on how to spend our time on a wet day out.
It’s not particularly cheap to stay here but it is an experience not to be missed.
Very well recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed in room Number One and it was excellent
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
There are newer reviews for Emily Moon River Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 445 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed for two nights on 16th March. The large room overlooked the river with a private balcony. Everything top notch, room, food, service and situation were all first class, would gladly recommend.
Well placed to visit all the various attractions of the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMG15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had a lovely lunch at Emily Moon restaurant.the setting is nice and service was good.The 3 course set menu for sundays was very balanced and good selections.The chicken curry ,sirlion steak was very tasty and well presented

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Janfourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was the perfect overnight stopover on the Garden Route. The setting was beautiful - overlooking a river valley. The rooms were truly outstanding - split level with the most beautiful views complete with a large terrace. The staff were very helpful and welcoming. We ate in the restaurant and both dinner and breakfast were exceptional. However would recommend using insect repellant when dining al fresco! Wi fi connection wasn't very good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Lovely setting, very nice units, beautifully decorated African-style, comfortable with all the amenities, including the new favorite I discovered on this first-ever African trip: the outdoor shower! Not something one gets to enjoy living in Alaska :-). The restaurant was excellent, the staff nice, and I liked walking around the cool grounds, down to the river and around. We had a bit of a time finding it, as the GPS (satnav) wasn't cooperating despite typing in the address and we had to call them for directions; they're a bit outside of Plett. We only had one night here but would have enjoyed a longer stay, but, we did visit nearby Monkey Land and Birds of Eden before driving on.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlasCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at Emily Moon for 4 nights after an intensive week on Safari. This was the perfect relaxing antidote - the view over the river was spectacular and made it a pleasure to wake up each morning. The hotel is perfectly placed for exploring the Garden Route being within easy reach of many of the major attractions. To be able to come back for a relaxing cocktail and delicious dinner at the end of the day was a real highlight. The room was beautifully appointed and it was lovely to have a range of guide books available. Our hosts were full of excellent suggestions of what to see and do which was a real help in planninng our days out. We even saw the visiting Sooty Falcon too!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angolsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Emily Moon staff gave us a very warm welcome and showed us to our very lovely room with a fantastic view over the Bitou River. We spent the first hour on the balcony watching fish eagles and many other exotic South African birds swooping above and below us.
The rooms are tastefully furnished, displaying interesting prints and artefacts. They are well equipped and even include an iron (although I hate ironing, my clothes were battered after more than two weeks of travelling)!
Watching the sunset from the restaurant with a cool glass of wine, followed by an outstanding meal was the perfect end to each day.
Our first morning was spent in an Emily Moon canoe, paddling up the river to see kingfishers and purple herons. We were given very good advice about what the area had to offer and had enjoyable and satisfying visits as a result, returning for a cooling dip in the beautifully positioned dark blue pool.
I would love to return to this well managed and relaxing retreat.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
3.0 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
553 reviews
6.5 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
547 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
374 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
743 reviews
5.0 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emily Moon River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emily Moon River Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 1936 | Rietvlei Road, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $142 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Emily Moon River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where luxury and peace are to be found in a sweeping river valley. Where the views encompass a wetland, winding river and distant mountains and where the call of the Fish Eagle will forever remind you of the vast skies of Africa. Embracing the southern bank of the Bitou River in Plettenberg Bay, Emily Moon River Lodge is a small, exclusive lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Emily Moon River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emily Moon River Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing