We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place run by great people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Emily Moon River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, UK
1 review
“Great place run by great people”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed at Emily Moon for three nights in July 2011 as one of our stops along the Garden Route. The bungalows are very well equipped and cosy and the open fires (which are relaid for you every morning) were particularly welcome in the winter evenings.

The restaurant is superb, for both breakfast and dinner. We intended to eat out on one or two of the nights we were staying at Emily Moon but the restaurant was so good and with such a varied menu we decided there was no point. It was the best food we had anywhere in our three week stay in South Africa.

One of the things which made the stay at Emily Moon so good was the welcome you get from Simon and his wife Di and their staff. Simon is a mine of information about what there is to do in Plettenberg Bay and the surrounding area and he sits down with you at the beginning of your stay to answer questions and provide suggestions of the best thing to do.

All in all Emily Moon is a place I would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    65
    17
    8
    6
See reviews for
73
279
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We really loved our stay here - the room was beautiful, the views stunning and great to be able to canoe and fish from the river. My only reservation would be that the restaurant is so popular that it overtakes the rooms in the sense that it is difficult to find a place to sit by the pool and it really is so busy that all the staff seem to be running around looking after restaurant guests. The ambience and food in the restaurant are amazing and well worth the hype but it is almost too popular for it's own good at the expense of the hotel guests. Saying that, it wouldn't stop me from recommending it and I think it is one of the best places to stay and eat in Plett.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BristolKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We spent 2 nights at Emily Moon on our recent trip to South Africa. Rooms were large with veranda's and wonderful views.
Breakfast was excellent, staff were friendly ang gave us plenty of good advice on the area's attractions
A great stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alian1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We were here for the last 3 days of our holiday in southern Africa. We'd already stayed in some great accommodation, arranged by Africa Exclusive, but this was really saving the best till last. The lodge is located on the outskirts of Plettenberg Bay, on the right side for visiting the most stunning parts of the Garden Route, east of PB. It overlooked a meandering river, and our room had the most superb view imaginable, overlooking the river. The accommodation was spacious and high-class and the Emily Moon restaurant was so good (and not particularly expensive) that there was no need to look for an alternative place to eat in the evenings. It was always full and had atmosphere. The hosts were extremely helpful (as were all the staff) and were on hand at breakfast to give insider advice on how to spend the day - really useful. We just loved this place!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlin33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
145 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

We stayed at the River House and not on the main Emily Moon property. We had a terrific stay in our beautiful self-catering house. The decor is perfect, the amenities (trampoline, boma, canoes) were great fun. The location is not ideal for everyone, and indeed we were surprised to find it so far from the rest of Emily Moon. It's just something to be prepared for, not necessarily a con. Also the house can be chilly, so bring warm clothes for fall/winter months.

Emily Moon the restaurant does not typically allow children. They thankfully made an exception for us. Too bad so many restaurants in the Garden Route feel that way. The food was delicious. We'll certainly return!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassidy144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

There is no other way to describe Emily Moon River Lodge than WOW. From the moment of stepping into the lodge to the moment we left everything was perfect. The setting over the Bitou River was fabulous. The staff were friendly but discreet. The food was wickedly delicious. Two nights were definitely not enough.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sauvarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford UK
Level Contributor
232 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2011

An absolute gem! Diane and Simon Valentine have created something very special on the outskirts of Plet. They are on hand at breakfast time to recommend ways in which you can spend your day as there are many, many varied activities available in this beautiful area.
Exceptional room with fantastic views from balcony, new guest pool which is more private than the original. Decor throughout is unique and memorable.
Food is absolutely wonderful, and service matches the professionalism of the owners and managers.

Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
6.5 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
515 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
533 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
676 reviews
6.6 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
134 reviews
5.0 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emily Moon River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emily Moon River Lodge

Property: Emily Moon River Lodge
Address: P.O. Box 1936 | Rietvlei Road, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Emily Moon River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where luxury and peace are to be found in a sweeping river valley. Where the views encompass a wetland, winding river and distant mountains and where the call of the Fish Eagle will forever remind you of the vast skies of Africa. Embracing the southern bank of the Bitou River in Plettenberg Bay, Emily Moon River Lodge is a small, exclusive lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Emily Moon River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emily Moon River Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing